We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An off day for Greenlaw”

Greenlaw Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenlaw Guest House
Ranked #7 of 10 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Blackpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An off day for Greenlaw”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

When we got to Gretna Green we arrived before check in time at the guest house which was 15:00. We had travelled from Blackpool to attend a wedding which started at 13:00 and didn't expect to check in or use any amenities but asked if there was anywhere we could get changed into our formal attire (even a toilet). We were refused and told there were no rooms ready but if we waited half an hour which was the time we needed to be at the church, we could have our room early for the extra cost of £15.00. We didn't demand a room, just asked if there was anywhere we could get changed but to no avail. Obviously we declined this offer and were left to get changed down a country lane. Further more when we arrived home from the wedding, we found one car on the car park so we surmised that most rooms were empty! We were not happy at all. Many of the guests at the wedding said they had done exactly the same thing at their guest houses but had been allowed to quickly get changed and check in later (which was exactly what we wanted to do).
The room itself was nice even if the bathroom was rather dated but all clean and tidy. Without the issues we experienced earlier in the day we would have been happy to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolTriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahame12, Owner at Greenlaw Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi Adam we try very hard to attend to all our customer needs if we had been made aware prior to your arrival that the wedding was earlier than check in in we would have made every effort to have your room ready for you this is a service that we offer guests but we do need to be alerted a tip for the future if you book online in the "special requirement" section of the booking form that you highlight you need or even just pick up the phone kind regards pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

best ever guest house we have ever stayed greenlaw is a must if your looking for a stayin Gretna Green Pauline made us so welcome nothing was too much trouble for her rooms very clean and comfotrable breakfast cooked by chef Fran was amazing excellent value for money all you want and more

Room Tip: rooms at the front overlook the Irish sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahame o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Greenlaw on the off chance and found it very good. Pauline was a great host and was very helpful, showing us to The Gretna pub which is opposite the shop outlet, food there was very reasonable and plenty of it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve54carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Lovely little guesthouse with a great breakfast. Pauline was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Great location, two minutes from the train station and about 5 minutes from the Blacksmith shop. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here the night before my wedding (sept 2012) it is run by a lovely couple, Pauline and Fran. The rooms are decorated so lovely, it felt very homely. I was very pleasantly surprised as I don't normally expect much from B n Bs but Greenlaws most definitely exceeded my expectations. The breakfast was fantastic with a full english and cereals, pineapple, muffins etc also provided. Perfect location as well, right across the rd from the train station and only a 2 min walk from the famous blacksmith shop. Adequate parking spaces are available also. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoobyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Greenlaw Guest House with my wife. First impressions when we pulled onto the ample car park was very nice,well maintained and lets hope the service and rooms were up to standard. On ringing the door bell a very polite and friendly lady greeted us and showed us in,this turned out to be the owner Pauline. She really made us feel welcome and explained what time breakfast was and where. She then pointed us in the direction of our en suite room number 3. The room was very nice,clean and presented well. There were tea &coffee making facilities in the room,nice clean and fresh bedding as well as towels. When the morning came round and we went for breakfast we were yet again welcomed by Pauline and our orders taken. The lay out and setup of the breakfast rooms were very good and the choice was above and beyond. Fresh orange on your table,then toast and then your ordered breakfast,with both pots of tea and coffee on offer and plenty of it. We have had some bad experiences in the past with guest houses and now usually go for the popular hotel chains. But to our surprise we have found a little gem and next time we are in the area we would without a doubt return. We had elderly parents with us for 1 night and yet again nothing was to much trouble,they were in room 9 or 10,with what can only be described as the biggest,widest bed we have ever seen and another very good room. All in all we cannot rate this little gem highly enough and would just like to say thank you to both Pauline and Fran for making our weekend an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Do not think you will get a bad room. We saw 3 rooms and were all on a par
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived, a bit earlier than anticipated, Pauline was very warm and friendly.
The room was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast, tasty and filling.
Hope to return next year for our 1st Wedding Anniversary.

Room Tip: Some road noise at the front, not a problem as the bed was so comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anvil View Guest House
Anvil View Guest House
#5 of 10 in Gretna Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fern Lea Bed and Breakfast
Fern Lea Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Gretna Green
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlaw Guest House

Property: Greenlaw Guest House
Address: Glasgow Roead, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenlaw Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenlaw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenlaw Guest House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing