We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander House
Ranked #2 of 10 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived on the 31st may 2013, we chose it based on the excellent reviews it had, we are happy to say we were not disappointed a very warm welcome, cleanliness to a very high standard and very nice breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s73ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
91
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, Merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at Alexander House last Saturday as we were attending a wedding at hotel nearby. This B&B deserves all the credit it get as it is first class. The rooms are beautifully clean and well appointed and Catherine is the most friendly and pleasant host. We would definitely recommend a stay here and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had four lovely nights in this bed and breakfast, everything was first class and breakfast was cooked to order and plentiful. Would definately stay there again if go back that way. Room spotless and bed comfortable. Very well looked after, home from home !

Room Tip: Room 3 is quiet and more on its own, sunshine woke us along with the birds each morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threshfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our second visit to Alexander House was as enjoyable as the first, last year. Although we only stayed the one night on our way home to the Highlands we were made to feel very welcome once again. Improvements to the car park make a big difference to parking access. The breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit and a great full English.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickydicky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a wedding, room spotless and a terrific breakfast and service. Special thanks to Julie for looking after us scrambled eggs and smoked salmon for breakfast delicious everything served fresh. Would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbutler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

A perfect stop over on our journey to the Scottish Islands. Just off the main route, a welcoming hostess, a clean and warm room with good facilities, good breakfast options - well cooked, and restaurants in walking distance. All at a fair price.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Alexander House is right on the border of Gretna Green just as you come into it from Gretna.
Catherine and Steve greeted us as if we were long lost friends and made us feel extremely welcome. The room (indeed the whole house) was scrupulously clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was perfect. Catherine made the bacon, egg and tomato (our choice from a generous menu) look like a work of art on our plates. We could not have hoped for a better night's sleep or a better place to stay. If we go that way again we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.3 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Property: Alexander House
Address: Glasgow Road, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Bed and Breakfast Accommodation in the heart of Gretna Green, four ground floor bedrooms, all en-suite with shower. Three Double rooms, one twin/kingsize, single rates also available. Free, off road private parking. All rooms have Freeview, Flatscreen Colour TV, Tea & Coffee Tray, Hairdrier, Radio. Free WIFI throughout the house. Breakfast to suit all tastes, served in our quirky, garden view dining room. Choose from Full English, Full Scottish, Vegetarian or Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs. Packed breakfast & Packed lunches also available by prior arrangement. We also have our own taxi service which you can book in advance for your wedding party, station or airport pick up/drop off, or a day trip out around the area - priority for our guests is given.Good base to tour from into the Lakes or Hadrians Wall or further into Dumfries & Galloway. We are close to all the wedding venues and larger hotels, churches and Blacksmiths Shop, Gretna Gateway Outlet Shopping Village and Gretna Green Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing