We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Stephen and Helene!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhone Villa

Rhone Villa
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhone Villa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Stephen and Helene!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Had such a happy and relaxing time at Rhone Villa and our hosts were so warm and welcoming. We came from Australia and stayed for three nights to attend our close friends' wedding in Gretna. The room that we stayed in was very clean and comfortable with a very good wifi connection and heating. The bathroom was spotless and the room was very cosy... it made for a perfect hideout nursing our heads the day after the wedding! Stephen cooked up a wonderful breakfast for us each morning and his good humour and easy-going attitude was a nice way to start each day. We felt so at home at Rhone Villa and recommend that anyone going to or through Gretna Green stay there!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
27
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Wonderful stay at this B&B. spotlessly clean, great beds, and all you can eat breakfast. The friendly owners went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. But more importantly than that, my wife is disabled and needs hoisted on and off the bed and the track hoist in the bedroom along with the wet floor shower area are facilities that we have never found in any other place we have visited. In fact our trips are limited by this. Also appreciated that the price of the disabled room was no different from the other rooms, we are used to paying more for such facilities. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Only one disabled room, book early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed overnight everywhere and a breakfast, cooked and presented that would be hard to better anywhere, really delicious and plenty of it, plus a comprehensive range of cereals and condiments

"Mine Host" Stephen immediately made us feel very welcome, unfortunately we never got to meet Helen, she was away for a couple of days. Nothing would seem to much trouble for Stephen to do to make our stay enjoyable, We had a long and interesting chat about the long past history of Rhone Villa itself which we found quite fascinating.

Plenty of safe on site parking at rear of premises and the place was completely set up for those unfortunate enough to be disabled, very impressive.

Should we ever need B&B in the area again, without hestitation Rhone Villa would be the first port of call, we could have wished for nothing better

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived late Friday evening after being stuck in traffic for hours and were greeted by the lovely owners Stephen and Helen. We had a very early start the following morning to drive to Edinburgh . Stephen got up extra early to cook our breakfast even though we said we would be happy with tea and toast. Beautifully cooked breakfast. The room was clean and very comfortable. We had a great chat on Sunday morning and will definitely stay there again and we highly recommend the Rhone Villa and it's very friendly hosts. Thank you very much for a lovely weekend. Will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

A perfect little B and B with excellent clean rooms and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in (and fluffy bedding). The breakfast was delicious, the people were friendly, we really couldn't of asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

A B&B with loads of character. Spatious, comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful owners. Great value for money and the breakfasts are incredible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justanotheronethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Rhone Villa.

The owners were extremely friendly and have an excellent sense of humour - breakfast time was a very sociable affair. The breakfast was very good too - a wide selection of food and well catered for vegetarians too.

There is adequate parking at the back (off the street) and the B&B is only a short walk into Gretna Green and the Blacksmiths (Let's be honest, Gretna's a very small place!). We were also given some excellent recommendations on places to eat.

We found the room to be a good size, clean and comfortable enough although the mattress was very soft and we didn't have the best night's sleep in it.

Nevertheless, on the whole we found Rhone Villa to be a pleasant place to stay and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warrenclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhone Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhone Villa

Property: Rhone Villa
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ground floor bedroom with en-suite wetroom with electric shower. Also grab rails and portable commode shower chair and raised toilet seat. Two single beds - one of which is an electric adjustable bed. This can be raised or lowered with a hand held control. This bed can also have the head or the foot raised or lowered independently of each other. A grab rail is placed between the two beds. An electric ceiling track hoist is positioned above the adjustable bed. A small adjustable table on wheels is also provided (hospital style table). There is a flat screen 29" TV/DVD with freeview channels mounted on the wall opposite the beds. A fold down desk (folds flat against the wall when not in use), tea & coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and an alarm clock also in the bedroom. Wide doorway for easy access. Ramp available for entry to the property. Property situated within easy reach of Gretna Gateway factory outlets and Gretna's famous blacksmiths shop and visitors centre. Pets may be allowed on prior request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rhone Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhone Villa Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing