We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a shame some negative comments have had such an impact on such a lovely lady.”

Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Ranked #3 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Such a shame some negative comments have had such an impact on such a lovely lady.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We only stayed one night, to book our wedding next year, but would not hesitate in staying again or recommending this establishment to our friends.
Unfortunately Carolyn has told us that she doesn't read these reviews so if somone could pass on our heartfelt thanks for a very pleasant stay we would greatly appreciate it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invisiblehelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My daughter and I arrived into Gretna Green on an early evening and hadn't made any reservations ahead of time. We stopped at Bonnie Prince Charlie's (first B&B we saw) and were pleasantly surprised to find the B&B reasonably priced and in our budget. The owner is a very friendly woman. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom was the best one we encountered on our whole stay. Breakfast was excellent. The B&B is only a couple of blocks away from the Blacksmiths shop. The owner recommended the restaurant in the hotel just around the corner and we had a great dinner there as well. We're very glad we found this accomodation. I'd stay there again if given the chance to visit again someday.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSTEIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for one night on way to the highlands. Was a wonderful stay. Fantastic Breakfast. Would recomend to anyone

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We dropped in on spec whilst on the way home from oban. Very comfortable bed and room. Lovely breakfast.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie123021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

we stayed here for two nights in September.Carolyn,our host,couldn't have been more welcoming and was only to pleased to help in any way.The rooms are lovely and clean,and a hearty breakfast presented every morning.Would be happy to recommend to anybody staying in Gretna Green.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenose36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Very friendly greeting by a lady called Carolyn. The room was lovely very clean and the bed was more comfortable than our own, the baby travel cot which they provided was a good one, and they also provided a lovely quilt which was a thoughtful touch. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesswinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Rooms were clean and well presented, host was very welcoming and pointed out places of interest. Breakfast was good too

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamHeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage

Property: Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing