We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accommodation for 2 people”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect accommodation for 2 people”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Gatehouse of Fleet is an excellent location for visiting the surrounding area of Dumfries and Galloway. There are numerous coastal and woodland walks for those who enjoy exploring the countryside as well as many places of historical interest.
The cottage is within easy walking distance of shops and eating places. Alison and John went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure to meet you both. Thank you for leaving the property so clean, your always welcome back at But and Ben.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andifos
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday cottage we've ever stayed at”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

If you're a couple planning to stay in Gatehouse of Fleet, then look no further than But and Ben.
It was spotless, modern, very nicely converted and we couldn't fault it. Very quiet, as there's no passing traffic, but within a couple of minutes walk of the pub, Spar shop and Cally Woods.
We were made very welcome by Alison, the owner and we'd be delighted to return for longer when the weather's warmer and we'd be able to enjoy the garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Perfect Guests, more than welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
179magpie...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New year rest.”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is our 4th visit to Gatehouse of Fleet, and our 2nd visit to this lovely quiet cottage.It is hidden away from the main area of the town. It has everything you want to make your stay happy and content. If you want to cook your host Alison has thought of everything, and the little special things she has waiting like eggs from her farm, wine, and cookies, this is a cottage in a town that is waiting for people to yes I am coming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Thank you so much for your great review and of course your more than welcome back anytime. Excellent guests. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for your review and you are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GCBPendle
Pendle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

But and Ben is a lovely well planned cottage, there has been lots of thought gone into making it a very comfortable home from home. The only negative that could be found was that the bed wasn't long enough for my 6ft 3ins husband.
The area is beautiful, we managed to be out walking every day, luckily the weather was perfect.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you much for your review, sorry about the length of the bed for hubby, it is a standard size double. but glad you had a great time regardless, your welcome back anytime if hubby can put up with bed length. Regards John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NurseGlad...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a chill out holiday”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Everything you needed, home from home. Ideal location for local attractions. Friendly little town.Had a wonderful week, including good weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review and leaving the But and Ben in tip top condition, one of my cleanest guests so far, welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickyds20
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Could not be any better”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a gem of a place and in such a beautiful area too! But and Ben is truly luxurious. It is by far the best place we have ever rented ...anywhere. The owners have given so much thought to everything, the quality of the decor, the furniture, the fixtures and all the equipment. A beautiful conversion, very, very comfortable and immaculately presented. It is simply superb and we look forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of everything
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Thank you for the gem of a review, so glad our vision of a luxury comfortable stay is being acknowledged and agreed with, its so satisfying. Your welcome back any time. Thanks John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing