We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bobbin Guest House

Bobbin Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatehouse of Fleet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bobbin Guest House
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I couldn't fault the Bobbin. Everyone was so friendly, lovely, large, warm and clean en-suite room, and a lovely breakfast. Excellent accommodation for an excellent price. If I'm ever in the area again I will certainly try to get in to the Bobbin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margret-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here on my second evening of a long distance cycling trip and was delighted to find a bath in my en-suite which was just what my legs needed. Friendly owners and was able to secure my bike in the back yard overnight. Tea and coffee making facilities and breakfast options in the morning were extensive. Would recommend and Gatehouse of Fleet itself is a lovely wee place for a wander.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Bobbin Guest House is on the main street near the centre of Gatehouse of Fleet. Free parking is available in the street but they also have off-street parking to the rear. Our double room with en-suite bathroom was spacious and comfortable. The owners were friendly and very helpful. The highlight of our stay was the cooked breakfast, which set us up for the rest of the day. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodri13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

First time in a guest house for 50 odd years but will use them more often in future.Excellent hostess serving a 5 star breakfast.En-suite twin bedroom nicely decorated with large bathroom and hot water at all times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here last Saturday night with my 2 daughters on a spur-of-the-moment trip to Scotland. Helen was a delight from my booking enquiry right through to our departure. We had the family room at the top of the building which was beautiful, spacious and clean as was the en-suite bathroom. Nothing was too much trouble for Helen, Jamie and daughter Erin. We were given spot-on advice as to where to eat and were told that we could come and go as we pleased - which we did. Breakfast was perfect and abundant; my daughters had at least 4 helpings of fresh fruit and also had our choice of cooked breakfast! Only sorry i couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My friend and I shared a wonderful 2 nights' stay at the 'Bobbin' with host Helen who was warm, welcoming and exceptionally helpful and kind....going out of her way to find me after we had checked out to return a forgotten book to me! The 'Bobbin' is centrally situated in Gatehouse of Fleet...a most pretty village surrounded by beautiful hills and countryside. My friend and I had traveled there to join a tour visiting the ancient Pictish Stone at Trusty's Hill close by. Helen kindly lent us a map which enabled us to find and visit other historical sites around the area. The 'Bobbin' is clean and comfortable with ample hot water for baths and showers and the breakfast is freshly prepared and fills the plates in abundance! We had originally only booked in for one night planning to stay elsewhere the following evening...however after visiting Kirkcudbright we decided to return to Gatehouse of Fleet and spend another evening there...preferring much more the gentle energy and softness of that area and Helen's little 'Bobbin' guest house. I can highly recommend a visit and stay and know that a warm welcome and excellent facilities and scenery awaits anyone who cares to travel to Gatehouse of Fleet and stay at the 'Bobbin'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitewave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here with friends last Saturday night and received a very warm welcome from Helen.
Comfortable and very clean bedroom/bathroom. Wonderful breakfast and Helen is very accommodating and ensures everyone gets what they want - and plenty of it! Brilliant to have such a choice of freshly prepared fruit. Helen is a delightful host and we can certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollee_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
0.0 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirk House
Kirk House
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
6.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bobbin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bobbin Guest House

Property: Bobbin Guest House
Address: 36 High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gatehouse of Fleet
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bobbin Guest House Hotel Gatehouse Of Fleet
Bobbin Guest House Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing