We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mini break”
Review of Cally Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cally Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful mini break”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Cally Hotel with my brother, niece and their dog. We have stayed there many times before (since the 60s) and I thoroughly enjoyed the mini holiday. The staff were excellent and the food could not be faulted. A wonderful relaxing stay in a beautifully located hotel.
The dining room requires gentlemen to wear a jacket and tie but that just adds to the sense of occasion and is appropriate.
The rooms which we had were smart and well decorated - I was in a superior room on the first floor with a four poster bed and a great view down the first hole to the loch. The public rooms are grand and comfortably appointed.
The only quibble which I had was that the bar was not always staffed and occasionally I had to ask at reception.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiSmithfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    119
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
78
200
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent two nights here with my wife for what was our third visit.

Staff as usual were excellent.

The rooms are large and clean but they could do with a lot of TLC (tender loving care) and some investment.

The views from the rooms are great and the grounds, including the 18 hole golf course, are extensive.

The facilities are really good and the public rooms bring a certain opulence.

The food was okay but the portion sizes were a bit on the small side, so much so that I was still a little hungry after 4 courses.

All in all, a reasonable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Imposing grand house with period fixtures, well tended golf course dedicated to sole use of guests, jacket and tie for dinner - but seems appropriate.

Staff pleasant, attentive and eager to please.

Bedroom décor (in Forrest Wing) a bit pedestrian - but great view from balcony.

First visit, but not the last.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balfronStirlingshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at this wonderful hotel.I found it to be more than I had expected.Our room had a perfect location on the ground floor adjacent to the Swimming Pool(we had 3 children so they were delighted). The staff were all very friendly and accommodating.The room was spotless and spacious with a balcony on the ground floor.The grounds were amazing and our children thoroughly enjoyed playing Tennis and golf,having the swings and slides just outside our door.The long walks through the woodland were amazing.Normally when we go on breaks they are fuelled with theme parks and exhaustion,this time was exceptional and we actually came home feeling refreshed.A welcome change which the children loved.The only negative thing,decor is quite dated,but I am sure the owners have that under control like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delighted021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel provided a gentle, relaxing, ambiance and wonderful friendly service and even though the weather had not been idyllic we could still have just "been" and let the surroundings and sense of being in a warm cocoon work their magic

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevelander
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the hotel with usual attentive staff, excellent food and great amenities. However the hotel decor both inside and out needs immediate attention. Our room had been refurbished and was very comfortable but some of the other rooms not very welcoming. Overall the hotel is excellent , spoilt only by the tired appearance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhmClevelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is our second visit here.
My husband and I came here in July to celebrate his 65 birthday. We had a really lovely room which was huge and looked out over the grounds. It was entered by a corridor, and on the left was the bathroom which was a large room. The bedroom was to the right and it could only be described as enormous. It had a 6ft bed and a large free standing double wardrobe with shelves and hanging, large chest of drawers, two bedside tables, desk, dressing table and a table and two chairs. You could have still held a dance in the room! We ate in the restaurant every night and the meals were excellent. Great choice of food at dinner and breakfast and beautifully presented. The staff were all very helpful and willing to help. The hotel also has a beautiful golf course where my husband played for the three days that we were there.

We will definitely be returning again soon.

Room Tip: We have been in 2 different rooms and they were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
0.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
81 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
277 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
74 reviews
4.2 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cally Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cally Palace Hotel

Property: Cally Palace Hotel
Address: just outside Gatehouse of Fleet, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cally Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cally Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cally Hotel Palace
Hotel Cally Palace
Cally Palace Hotel Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing