We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cally Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cally Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this hotel after we saw a good offer in the Scotsman and were curious of what we would find. On arrival and throughout our stay the staff was exceptionally friendly and very attentive. We loved the slightly old fashioned decor (in some places it does need refurbishing) and it gave the place an enchanting feeling. We absolutely loved our rooms!! We had a family suite which meant that the parents had their own room with bathroom and just adjacent were the kids with their own room and ensuite bathroom - so no morning and evening squabbles. Of course they thought that having their own TV was just the best ever. Grandma had her room just across the corridor and the sizes of the rooms were just brilliant. We embraced the fact that we had to change for dinner and the kids enjoyed it just as much as we did - and I truly think it made them feel a bit more special and grown up. The service was at times a bit slow in the evening, but the breakfast buffet was lovely - great choice. The pool was a massive hit with the kids and it was kept clean and it felt very inviting. The grounds of the Hotel were beautiful and there are great walks to do. We plan to go back and hope to explore more of the area as there is such a lot to see and to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Achnaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    108
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
77
189
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fingal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked this along with the Ferry and can have absolutely no complaints about value.
Looking at other reviews, yes the hotel appears dated and old fashioned, partularly in public areas, however this is right for this hotel. A small update maybe but modern would destroy the character. We would have liked to use the Dining Room for Dinner but the Dress Code drove us away (without trying) and maybe the hotel could review this.
Check In a bit formal with two people hiding behind a tall counter (improved from times past) some similar country house hotels use a flat desk to give less of a stuffy feel.
Breakfast was fine with good choice and quality, Service for all hot food a bit slow and again a bit formal with the same table each day. However no complaints!
The Pool was excellent (not dark) and the hotel provided in-room pool towels and robes to allow us to change in our room. This we have rarely experienced before. There was a snooker table (with only one cue with a working tip) This did indicate that maintenance might not be quite up to standard.
The room was huge with bunks and twin beds pushed together but made up with single blankets as separate beds. Nothing unusual in this in continental hotels so we have no complaint there but maybe they could be made up as a double?
The chairs were old fashioned but at least were comfortable to allow us to look at the tv which had sky sports and good reception.
We'd stay here again if only for the leisure facilities but certainly felt leaving the hotel that it could have enhanced what it had and perhaps a little sadly suggested that its best days were temporarily gone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shels4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was my second time I have visited the Cally Palace and I was still very impressed, with the hotel and service of all the staff and how they welcomed us the moment we walked into the hotel. The restaurant food was excellent and I liked the idea of dressing for dinner. The bedrooms that we had on both occasions were amazing and lots of space in them. I think this must be my favourite hotel and definitely value for money. If you are looking for a relaxing few days away this should be your choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful hotel giving great customer service and keeping to old fashioned values like dressing for dinner, white cloths on the dinner tables and putting the customer first. The bedrooms could do with updating and the ensuite bathrooms could certainly do with refurbishing. The entrance into the hotel together with the main public sitting room are very impressive. The other public sitting room together with the bar do need to be refurbished however in order to maintain an overall good first impression. All the staff that we came across were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a truly relaxing hotel to stay in. Mainly caters for the more mature guests which means very few children running around! Great golf course in a beautiful setting. Rooms are big and beds comfortable. Food exellent with a good variety. Evening meals with a piano accompyment! Staff are very helpful.

Lots of interesting walks and cycle tracks in the woods in the grounds of the hotel. It's the only place we've seen red squirrels in the UK!

Having discovered this hotel a few years ago we now return every year for a golf break.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: They are gradually upgrading the rooms so ask for a room which has recently been upgraded. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterTiger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I met a friend I hadn't seen for 20 years in a comfortable if rather posh hotel on a dreadful rainy day. We had a nice lunch - service was so discreet we hardly noticed as we caught up with grandchildren, travels, plans etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchwind70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a difficult one to write as there was nothing actually wrong with our stay but I left thinking how much more it could have been. Lets start with the location, beautiful surroundings down a drive about a mile long, a golfers dream with the course on site I'm sure, lovely walks in the forest or by the lake, reputedly red squirrels but they were elusive for us. Pleasant and helpful welcoming staff, amazingly grand public rooms where you could get drinks and snacks quite readily.
Our bedroom, clean, large but tired and dated. Shower also looked a bit old but was actually perfectly satisfactory in terms of dispensing a good flow of hot water. A bit of investment needed here, I would not rate this aspect as 4 star at present.
Dinner was a very good 4 course meal, enough choice, well cooked, perhaps a little rushed for my liking but it hit the mark. Glad we decided to take dinner here, it would be a drive to go anywhere else.
Breakfast food wise was again very good in terms of choice. We had the full cooked breakfast and again perfectly well done. One odd bit was arriving in the dining room, no one on hand so we just sat at a table where for a few minutes we were ignored. Eventually a waiter came and told us we were to sit at the same table as where we had our dinner. On doing so we were then served. Please tell your guests if you have such rules, this happened to another couple shortly after us, made to feel a bit foolish.
At over £200 for one night for two sharing I think I expected 4 star treatment all round and was left wanting. A shame, I left thinking about what it could be...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nantwichgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
5.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
13.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Kirroughtree House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
13.2 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cally Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cally Palace Hotel

Property: Cally Palace Hotel
Address: just outside Gatehouse of Fleet, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cally Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cally Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cally Hotel Palace
Hotel Cally Palace
Cally Palace Hotel Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing