We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable holiday”
Review of Murray Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Murray Arms
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel offers a very friendly and warm welcome. The staff could not be more attentive to your every need. The breakfasts are hearty and evening meals are good value. Cream teas in the afternoon are wonderful. The hotel building itself could do with a little updating but the management assure us that plans are afoot. Overall a very good hotel for either an overnight stay or a week long break. Situated it the top of the high street it is perfectly placed for joining in with community activities and the park is just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    25
    12
    12
See reviews for
33
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a basic hotel offering good value for money and a good welcome. The bedroom was pleasant, some of the public rooms such as the restaurant are less so. Food is old fashioned but ok. The wine list is good and service satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The warm friendly welcome at reception was a good start to my stay at this old coaching inn. The room was pleasant enough, in a slightly retro way, and well-maintained and clean. The tea and coffee tray was generous, complete with biscuits. Arriving early, there was a problem with the television, which did not click into life until 3pm - whether this is standard or a one-off I could not say. The advertised wi-fi could not be accessed in the room - the nice lady downstairs subsequently attributed this to the thickness of the walls, rather than the thickness of this particular guest! Needing to be out early in the evening, I settled for a quick meal in the bar, adequate, but rather dear for what was really canteen food. Breakfast was again served by delightful staff and offered a good choice.

It would make a decent base for a longer stay for those wishing to explore Galloway, set as it is in a charming small town amid delightful scenery. The facilities may be average, but oh, those lovely smiles!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Still_Artnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A simple, but very pleasant lunch with friends in a relaxed setting. Hotel staff were very helpful to advise and accommodate me with my coeliac diet, which can still be a stumbling block in many places.
I had a gluten-free brown bread open smoked salmon sandwich. It arrived with a good amount of salmon, but I though it perhaps a wee bit short on the salad garnish? Have I been too spoilt elsewhere? The most interestingly presented, and very tasty, small bucket of chips arrived for each of us. We were left to eat in peace, but had enough attention to sort out any requirements.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Despite the dreadful weather we received a warm and welcoming reception at the Murray Arms.
This family run hotel is set in the centre of the lovely town ( village ??? ) of Gatehouse of Fleet, only a few miles from the Scottish coast.
Even in February it is a charming place to visit and the Murray Arms makes a great base.
Our room ( Number 8) was very spacious, with two extremely comfortable beds, a TV , plenty of tea/coffee, a huge bath and a shower, with ample hot water and big fluffy towels. We had an excellent nights sleep. The building is very old but was extremely clean, and even though it was blowing a gale outside, our room was nice and warm .The owners had put in extra heating prior to our arrival to supplement the central heating, which was working full blast due to the very inclement weather.
Double glazing would have helped as the single glazed windows were a bit draughty, but it is a listed building after all.

There is a small but cosy bar with a big choice of drinks at very reasonable prices. Even at dinner a decent bottle of wine was only £13 .

The staff could not due enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. We were attending a private party at the Murray Arms and had the most wonderful meal. The menu was mouthwatering and our dinner was freshly cooked and delicious. They obviously have a very good chef and kitchen team.

Breakfast was also not to be missed. Try the full Scottish, eggs, bacon, sausage, hagggis, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, and potato scones. As much tea and coffee as you can drink as well a full range of cereal, toast and jam, fruit, yoghurt and juices.We didn't need to eat again until dinner time.

Like a lot of old buildings in Scotland, there is on going renovations. Don't visit if you want a modern faceless hotel room , but if you want an historic rambling hotel , fuill of interest and quirks, with great service and hospitality that is second to none then this is the Murray Arms is for you

We shall definitely go back.

Room Tip: Number 8 was great. Very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We've been using this hotel, both as guests and diners for over ten years now, during which time it's seen a few changes of both ownership and fortunes.
Last time we stayed, we found the room rather cold, this was four years ago, but we only paid £10 a night for the room anyway! Since then, the owners are working hard to refurbish the rather dated accommodation, but funds are rather limited, so they're doing it properly, one room at a time. In the meantime they're accommodating guests at their sister hotel, the Ship Inn at the other end of the High Street.
We stayed a few years ago for the Hogmanay Ceilidh - quite simply the best party we've ever been to, bar none!
What is consistently good at the Murray Arms is the food, it is absolutely fantastic! We have never had a bad meal, whether it be breakfast (when staying), lunch or dinner. A very varied menu, including the staple haggis, neeps and tatties. Our last meal was dinner on 29th Sept, we had the restaurant to ourselves, but the food and service were excellent.
What this hotel lacks in glitz is more than made up for by its quirky character, which it has in spades, and wonderful, friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.
As I said in the heading, don't knock it, getting the Murray Arms back to its former glory is a huge job, and they're working extremely hard at it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff are helpful and the highlight of staying at this substandard accommodation. We stayed in a top floor family room, with no central heating and an over bath shower that was suitable only for small adults due to height restrictions. Bar area is dull and small and the Hotel needs a massive upgrade in terms of decor and facilities - many features look like they have had no attention for over 20 years at least.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatehouse of Fleet hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
0.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
11.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
116 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Arms

Property: Murray Arms
Address: High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murray Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Arms Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing