We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement required”
Review of Murray Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Murray Arms
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The occasion was a celebratory family meal...... We waited 45 mins to have our meal served after our order was taken for drinks/food...... They forgot one of our drinks! The slow cooked pork belly sounded delicious but who in the world would pour gravy over what should be lovely crispy crackling??? I rest my case.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jools064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is badly in need of refurbishment and modernisation. However, it does have a certain charm and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and piping hot. We didn't dine at the Hotel (we have family and friends living close by) but the menu was varied and very reasonably priced - as were drinks at the bar. This Hotel has the potential to be something wonderful - here's hoping it's not too long before management spend some money to bring it into the 21st century.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived at The Murray Arms Hotel to a really nice welcome from staff and were shown to our room and luggage carried up for us with their being no lift and quite a few stairs so not suitable to anyone with any severe dissabilities. The room was comfortable, if a little warm on arrival. The weather being wet and windy, the heating had been turned up to compensate but it took sometime to return to a normal temperature once we had turned it off.

The food at the hotel was very good indeed and the dining room, although small, had a nice decor and the staff were very attentive. There is plenty of choice on the breakfast menu, including smoked haddock and poached egg and kippers which pleased my husband very much. The dinner menu was very good but not so many choices but plenty of variety.

We had visited a local smokehouse and brought some of their products and the staff arranged for the chef to store this in the fridge until our departure which was very much appreciated.

We would certainly recommend a stay here as there are quite a few attractions nearby and one or two places within Gatehouse of Fleet worth having a meal out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The photos on the website made the hotel look quite appealing but in arrival to a scruffy exteriored building, I had a sinking feeling. The staff were friendly enough but the hotel did not warrant £80 per night for a basic room or the star rating. It smelt like an old folks home and a lot of the furniture looked like it came from there as well. The carpets were Ill fitting, there was no hot water, the bath seal was yellow and peeling. The wash hand basin was not fixed to the wall. The tv didn't work so the lady came to see if it could be retuned which I had already tried. It was irreparable so we got moved to the room next door which looked like there had been a leak from above in the not too distant past and the old sash and case window would not shut nor lock. All in all a serious disappointment. Over priced and sub standard. I expected Basil Fawlty to appear at any moment!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mersh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Pleasant atmosphere, good food. Useful distance from Ferryport. Interesting area and pretty village.
We understand that the new owners intend refurbishing the hotel shortly so we look forward to that on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had dinner in the hotel last night,wow! What a difference a year or two makes.My husband and i thoroughly enjoyed our 2 courses and coffee.
I had the goats cheese starter and the other half had the smoked salmon,both presented well.We both chose the venison in a red berry sauce,absolutely divine,served with a good portion of well cooked dauphinaise,and red cabbage,and a separate dish with more vegetables.Coffee was served with homemade tablet,very very nice indeed.
We also thought it was very competitively priced- Venison £13,Goats cheese- £5.75.
We have eaten in their sister hotel "The Ship" and think the chef
is so much better in "The Murray""
The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank vin5red12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We did not stay in the hotel. However, we were looking for a nice place to eat with our 2 children and our dog, and were recommended the Murray Arms Hotel. The staff were helpful and booked for us to dine in a little alcove beside the bar where we could bring our dog in too. The food was a fair price, and of an excellent standard. There was a varied menu, a good choice of starters, mains and desserts with 4 or 5 specials as well. The food was fresh and presented well, and was delicious, and the children's menu was not the usual fish fingers and nuggets - although they were on the menu made fresh from chicken breast! The staff were excellent, friendly and attentive, and it was lovely to sit in a quiet area to eat without constantly telling the kids to be quiet and not disturb other diners and was nice to be able to bring the dog in, and not leave her in the car all the time. Overall, we really enjoyed our meal and would recommend it to anyone with or without the family pet in tow. I see they received a few bad reviews in 2009, but the hotel seems to be under new management, and this must be reflected in the quality of the food in 2012.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
0.1 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
89 reviews
1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
450 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
124 reviews
13.1 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
374 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Arms

Address: High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range: $131 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murray Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Arms Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing