We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel though due for refit”
Review of Murray Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Murray Arms
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Recently taken over by the Ship Inn (qv), new owners are planning a refit. That said our rooms at the very tippy top of the hotel were very spacoius, comfortable and clean. One was called the "39 Steps" but actually there were only 31 steps up.
The food was good though the service was slow on the second night but they were very busy and short of staff. Breakfast was very nice, Mr G had full Scottish as usual!
Although only rating it as average it was better than that and we would certainly return. A bit of worn paint is not the end of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gansonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Had a lovely meal in the Murray Arms, broccolli and stilton soup was brilliant, staff were very friendly, place is a bit cookie! bit of a mish mash of rooms, just a bit different, service with a smile made it very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJPDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a lovely relaxing overnight stay at the Murray Arms. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was beautiful and seemed to be mainly locally sourced. The hotel is a bit tired looking and could do with being done up but the rooms were clean and the staff and service was excellent, we would definately go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katepatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Just happened to stop here for lunch. The menu was varied with a good choice and the food was excellent. The service was good and very friendly. Would stop here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

What a hidden gem... Food cooked beautifully. You wont get a better meal, end of. New owners & new chef 5 weeks ago and he/she knows their stuff. We're going back. Btw I never write reviews but this was SO good i broke out of my slubbenliness.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartykus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel several times and the first word that springs to mind is consistency. On the down side it looks a little tired, but not yet at a desperate stage. On the plus side, the food and customer service is very good, and has been consistently so for a number of years now. There has been a noticeable reduction in the number of staff employed in recent years (sign of the austere times no doubt) but those that are left just appear to work even harder. We had another comfortable stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuchenclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

When we ordered our meal in the restaurant we were expecting something special to justify the well above average prices. However when the food arrived we were extremely disapointed. Well below average - the puff pastry wasn't even risen on the steak pie.

I have no idea how the hotel management came to decide the price range in the restaurant. I really think that a reality check is required.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
0.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
441 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
147 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
124 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Arms

Address: High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range: $123 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murray Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Arms Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing