We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very roomy converted church modern holiday cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Couplewit...
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very roomy converted church modern holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just off the Main Street this holiday cottage is in a lovely setting with a stream running alongside. Once inside you would not know it was once a church. Very modern with plenty of space for two couples & a teenager. Large kitchen/diner/lounge downstairs. Second floor bathroom, twin room & double room, third floor double room with en suite & top floor lounge. It would improve the cottage had towels been provided. I did contact the owner who said they wasn't provided because people have allergies to some wash powder ! Personally I think customers could make their own mind up about this whether to use or not. Fitting 5 people plus luggage into the car was hard enough never mind having to pack a weeks worth of towels. The kitchen equipment could be changed as looking well used especially baking tins. I placed a wooden chopping board on top of the bin when we left because upon arrival it had a big crack in it, not exactly hygienic. Welcome pack such as milk would of been gratefully accepted but Spar supermarket is one min away. A shelf for toiletries would be a great help in the bathroom & I noted a lot of customers mentioned how bad the tv's where. I agree, very old, bad picture & too small for a large lounge. The beds where very comfy & clean. This cottage is just off the path from the visitors centre you do get a lot of people passing your door & garden & next door (west wing can only access their car through your garden, so not exactly private. One morning pulled open the bedroom curtains to see a strange woman sat on a chair with her feet up on our bench reading a book & having her breakfast, and she wasn't from next door !! Shame with just a few tweets this could be a fab cottage

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We've stayed in both East and West Gables and have enjoyed being at both of them. They are very clean and contain everything required for a pleasant stay, although it you are there during cold weather I'd recommend taking along a blanket for each bed. The showers are incredible, better than any power shower. However, if you have mobility problems, both houses are span three floors so there are lots of steps. The river Fleet runs right next to the houses and while the garden areas are small they have a picnic bench to enjoy the view. The houses are very close to the Mill on the Fleet which has a good coffee shop and tourist information, as well as a museum and fantastic second hand book shop on the top floor - great for a rainy day. The bus to Dumfries stops right outside if you don't want to drive and there's a Spar and Key Store within a couple of minute's walk if you run out of milk. There are also several pubs within easy staggering distance and walks through the woods and along the river Fleet. I think they are very good value for money, which is why we have stayed there 3 times in the last year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davetheno...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation for family break”
Reviewed January 9, 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Nice, bright conversion with plenty of room.
Kitchen was well equipped with large dining area.
The main lounge was on the third floor and was a little trek if you needed something from the kitchen!
Slighty musty smell from condensation on the main church window on the side of the property.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Reviewed December 18, 2009 for a stay in November 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Lothian
Reviewed December 8, 2009 for a stay in July 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Quirky building
Liked least: Very small garden
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing