We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great property, great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Shorepark Cottage on the edge of Glencaple village sleeps 1 to 6 people.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shorepark Cottage on the edge of Glencaple village sleeps 1 to 6 people.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Shorepark Cottage on the edge of Glencaple village sleeps 1 to 6 people.
Snug Bedroom
Sunset on the river nith
Nautical Bedroom
View from the window seat
Sunset over Criffel from Shorepark
The old part of the cottage dates back to the 1800's
En-suite bedroom
Bathroom
Garden View of River and Criffel
Woodburner with Tartan Armchair
Kitchen/Dining Area
Dining Area with view of River Nith
Front Patio Area
Lounge View of Criffel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Michael S
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great property, great location”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

All the 5 star reviews for Shorepark are fully justified. Idyllic location overlooking the River Nith and the living room takes full advantage of the view. The property is excellently equipped and furnished with everything you need. It really has a "wow factor". Lots to see and do in the area, or you can do nothing, sit in comfort, inside or outside and enjoy the view.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2018
Thanks Mike for the great review. We are both so pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Please come back and stay when you are in the area again.
Dave & Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary79Fal...
Falkirk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Ladies weekend.”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Beautiful setting!!! Stunning cottage!!! Dave and Cath really do think of everything, their cottage is AMAZING! the 6 of us had a wonderful weekend catching up and relaxing here, just what was needed.
This is our second visit and we will definitely be back....Thank you for a wonderful stay and the Prosecco was an unexpected welcoming gift.
See You Again Soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Hi. Mary
Thank you for the great review,it was so nice that you returned with the girls and had a fantastic weekend with us. Looking forward already for you all coming back.
Dave and Kathleen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Thank you Ally for the lovely review. It was great to host you all for the weekend. We are pleased that your stay with us meet all your expectations
Dave and Kathleen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poetorafo...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easter break”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just back from spending the Easter weekend at Shorepark Cottage with family. It is a very modern and contemporary accommodation. The spec throughout is top class. Dave met us on arrival and was very courteous and informative - also a nice chilled bottle of Prosecco was waiting for us in the fridge. The views from the front room are unbelievable, stunning. I’m certain this won’t be our last visit. A fantastic Easter break. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
Thank you very much Andrew for the review. It was great to meet you all. So pleased you had a relaxing time with us. Please return as we would love to host you all again.
Dav3 and Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill B
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning setting”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Shorepark Cottage is located in a quiet village not far from Dumfries. The accommodation is beautifully presented and very well equipped. There are stunning views of the estuary and mountain beyond through the panoramic windows. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. There is a hotel/pub a short walk away which is very handy. The hosts were friendly, helpful and informative. We look forward to visiting again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2018
Thank you very much for the great review. We are so pleased that you all had a relaxing time together. Looking forward to you returning.
Dave and Kath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albaness
Pristina, Kosovo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place.”
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The cottage is beautiful, in a stunning setting with marvellous views of the river. The geese coming and going punctuated the day. The owners were very friendly and helpful and it was a truly magical place to spend Christmas. We had a great time with our family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2017
Thanks for the great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas with us.
Kathleen and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location, location”
Reviewed November 29, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Pretty much everything has already been said about this accomodation - fantastically appointed property, quality finish and everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay.
Whilst the property itself is first class, what sets it apart from the competition is the location, with stunning views across the River Nith to the merses and hills beyond.
The area is a haven for wildlife, from the morning and evening flights of Barnacle Geese and Whooper Swans, Peregrines hunting the flocks of duck and waders to the Roe Deer feeding on the merses. We were even treated to two sightings of Otters, all this from the house or garden.
I have one small complaint, our long weekend was over too soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2017
Thanks Rob for the brilliant review
We are pleased that Shorepark meet your requirements during your stay
Seeing the Otters was the iceing on the cake.
Thanks again.
Dave and Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing