We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 th wedding anniversary family celebration. ”
Review of Casa Mia

Casa Mia
Ranked #2 of 162 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Case Mia has rapidly earned a reputation as one of Dumfries and Galloway's top flight restaurants, serving a consistently good quality of cuisine with a decidedly modern European twist. Open seven days a week and situated literally minutes from Dumfries Town Centre, this delightful place is set in a secluded corner on the banks of the River Nith. Casa Mia has about it an air of elegance, refinement and sophistication that encourages return visits.Under the expert management of Butrint Gashi, Case Mia benefits from his wide experience at Le Cafe du Jardin in Covent Garden with the result that the good people of Dumfries and Galloway find this restaurant highly desirable not only for intimate occasions when a good impression is required, but also for social and business events that demand efficient and competent handling.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Casa Mia came to our rescue and were able to accommodate a party of 13 at short notice for our parents Diamond wedding anniversary. The meal was outstanding yet again . The new menu is fabulous. We all had different dishes and everyone enjoyed the food. The service was exceptional and the staff are very professional. We had a wonderful evening . Thank you to all the staff for making it a special evening .

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank 263,396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Five of us had a meal here last night. It was my first time to Casa Mia - I'd mistaken it for a straightforward Italian and there are other good ones in the town. The quality of food and the setting at Casa Mia is much higher than those restaurants - it's the kind of place I'd go for a special meal. Their wine list is great too. We all really enjoyed our food and although the menu was quite varied (Szechuan fried chicken vs a Sambuca tiger prawn starter, a Japanese inspired duck main course alongside a smoked salmon pasta in a cream sauce) it was all delicious. I had two fish courses and the fish was cooked beautifully. The only thing I'd say is that there weren't too many exciting vegetarian main courses - it's possibly not somewhere I'd bring friends who didn't eat meat or fish.

I mainly wanted to write this review to praise the customer service. Halfway through the main course, my partner accidentally knocked a glass of red wine all over me and my plate of food. Staff were on hand instantly with cloths and napkins, and they also immediately offered to replace my plate of food, which they did within about 5 minutes. It wasn't their fault at all, and it wasn't a cheap main course either (a £15.95 cod dish - absolutely delicious). They also offered to give my partner a new glass of wine, but he declined! The waitress was really good humoured and everything was sorted with minimal fuss. I think at most I might have hoped for them to offer me a side dish or a starter but to replace the whole main course without me even asking was incredibly generous. Based on the food and the service, I would definitely come back here.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went to this restaurant for the first time i ages. The food was outstanding. The scallops starter perfectly cooked, the steak exactly medium rare and the cheese and biscuits spot on. The house white once cooled down at the table was very nice. The waiting staff were personable and efficient, just plain nice.

Unfortunately a large party (12 - 14 strong) arrived who were very loud, which rather put a damper on things. One table next to us asked to be moved away from them wish we'd finished our port in the entrance area.

Not the restaurant's fault, they kept their side of the deal with excellent food and excellent service, will be back.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

They always make a fuss of you on special occasions :) delicious lamb meal, really yum. Music a bit too loud/intrusive when we arrived but the lovely courteous staff turned it down for us.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

My husband & myself went to the Casa Mia to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, we haven't been to the casa for long while due to busy family life but I couldn't believe how much it blew me away.... It had been refurbished in January and the ambiance was beautiful, so clean like always, the tables & settings were gorjus, as for the staff I have never ever encountered a member of staff who haven't shown myself and my family outstanding professionalism, expert knowledge of the menu, stunning courtesy and extreme friendliness and that is why I will always recommend the casa for any occasion. The staff and the food are just amazing!!!! The food is always the first thing you really go out out to enjoy & look for but when you have stunning produce served by immaculate and extremely professional staff it makes your dining experience far more rewarding... I honestly cannot believe how amazing the Casa is, our 20th Anniversary will definitely be remembered as an amazing dining experience thanks to the casa!!!!
The food was just devine and so fresh, we ate from the TCIF menu and I honestly could not fault one part of it, the wine also that I had was amazing, chilled to perfection. I really really really can't say one bad thing about the casa it's just Absolutely Amazing!!! Please try it and I promise you it won't let you down.
I cannot wait til we go again next week...
Thankyou so much Casa and the gang you did not disappoint.
Unfortunately due to having thee most amazing evening there was no time or occasion to take photos it was just too good....
Love always Scott,Jodie and family xxx

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank JodieMoore1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mia also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Casa Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing