We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hill View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lbhk
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic break”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage after a long drive with delays and a puncture... so it was so nice to be given a warm welcome and discover the cottage. It is a perfect spot and Anna has thought of everything. From the welcome pack with Thornton's caramel shortbread, coffee and tea to the bouquet of sweetpeas on the table. It was perfectly situated for us to visit our family in Dumfries, easy to access and the sun shone all week. What else could you ask for?

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Thank you, so nice to hear you had a lovely stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scotland
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
06mvivia
Murrieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas Break”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Great stay here, cottage was lovely and clean, and also easy to find! (we stayed somewhere else last year and was a nightmare to find!)

Wifi is free, and there is milk, coffee, tea etc provided on arrival. We took our two dogs who were more than happy staying there - my only point would be for large dogs, the fence in the garden at the rear is very low so ours kept escaping! If you keep an eye on them this isn't an issue.

We will be visiting again as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a great area!”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great views from this cosy cottage; just off the A75 so handy for getting around Dumfries and Galloway. Ample parking, clean and comfortable accommodation. Highlights for us were Mersehead RSPB reserve, walking from Sandyhills to Rockcliffe (bus service back), Kippford village (Anchor Hotel a must), Loch Ken, plus the scenic road between Kirkpatrick Durham and Shawhead.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing of note, but better internet would be a bonus
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_alisonwa...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage, a home from home.”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in August. Myself, husband and two young daughters had a fabulous time. The cottage itself has everything we needed making our stay an easy and very pleasant one. Having all the modern conveniences (and even a washing line!!) Made it suitable for anyone wishing to stay. There was a warm welcome when we arrived and it was nice to know help was on site if we needed. We explored the beaches, castles, farms, ice cream parlours and beautiful forest of Galloway. There was more to do than we had time for. Mabie park farm and moss yard farm were firm favourites and I would recommend for any family. Everyday was an adventure and we would certainly return in the future. Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C
Kingsley Holt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil spot so easy to find”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely property is situated just off the A75 and the directions provided are so simple,that a sat nav is not required. The cottage is pristine with everything that one could desire. It was nice to have tea, coffee milk and biscuits provided on arrival, but little extras like dishwasher and washing machine tablets were very thoughtful. The hosts were helpful and charming. Nothing was too much trouble.Nearest restaurants were either in Dumfries or Castle Douglas, a few miles away. No hesitation in recommending the cottage for anyone wanting a quiet base to stay whilst touring.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to main A road.
Liked least: Wifi access not always available.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing