We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“String of errors spoiled the weekend - DO NOT STAY HERE!!”
Review of Mabie House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mabie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We were kept waiting endlessly though our afternoon, the room eventually materialised 4hrs late, I was very annoyed - had the staff told us that we were not going to be able to check in till late then we could have made the most of our day and visited some of the great towns/sights/scenery around. Instead we spent the afternoon waiting around, our boredom only to be broken when someone reversed into our car in the carpark. Not the kind of break we were hoping for.

Room was a disappointment. Cramped facilities, overheated room with no fan available from the hotel, flies and the sound of kitchen staff swearing at each other at 6am did not improve my impression of the place. I took 6hrs to find an Iron for us. There was a bulb out. It took us 30 mins to figure out the little switch by the bed turned the shower on! The mattress was one of the cheap ones that makes you feel like you are sleeping on rock's, the management say this is one of the new mattresses they have installed.

The food was the biggest disappointment of the trip. the venison was like rubber, over cooked and tepid by the time it reached us, the accompaniment of mustard mash had the consistency of polly filla with liberal amounts of buckshot.

The beef wellington was horrific. I was served the end pieces. They were inedible. On asking for a cut closer to the centre in the hope of tasting some of the succulent local beef I was told it had all been given out and it was our fault for ordering too much beef and not enough chicken.

The overall attitude of the staff left me with impression that we were imposing on them.

My friend was a wheelchair user. They had to stay in a travelodge in Dumfries as although the hotel is rated for access that is only to the function room. there is no access to the toilets or the bedrooms.

PS the only hotel that does not have 3g or WiFi!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotForProfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

The service of the bar staff was excellent, we honestly could not fault it, however...

Upon arrival, 1pm, we were advised check in wasn't until 2, which was fine, we were early and had some lunch. However at 2pm we were advised the room woud be 5-10 minutes. It wasn't until 4.45pm (3 hours and 45 minutes late) we finally got the room key. It wouldn't have been so bad but we had travelled all day and they kept lying by saying the room would only be 5 minutes.

The bed was dirty and unchanged when we arrived, there was black hairs and dirty marks on the linnen. The toilet was constantly broken. The room was above the kitchen so constantly noisey and extremely hot with no fans. The drinks were over priced. We had food posining from dinner. The shower scalded me.

The attitude of the manager was disgraceful when we checked out - saying we had nothing to complain about. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! VILE PLACE & HORRID MANAGEMENT!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tripreview84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

The staff at the hotel were brilliant in our 'hour of need'. After a fantastic day's cycling in the forest, we returned to the car to discover that we had lost the car key! Aaaagh.......wallet , mobile phone,house keys etc all in the car........and we were camping several miles from here......
Hotel were so accommodating; allowing us to use their phone, providing reviving cups of tea......and despite our muddy attire, making us feel so welcome! Amazing - and so refreshing to have staff who really cared!
Cannot thank the owner enough for looking after us; and best of all....that the car key was handed in!
Hotel and grounds really wonderful......and cannot wait to try out one of the 'garden pods' on our next cycle adventure to Mabie Forest!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CJL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Classy hotel in a part of Scotland that I've fallen in love with. Gorgeous setting. If you like to hike, there are trailheads into the Mabie Forest a minute from the hotel's front door. If you like to bike, there's a bike rental shop next door (The Shed) and bike trailheads that leave from there. The hiking & biking trails are various distances & difficulty; all are well-marked. I was very impressed.

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the rooms are spacious by European standards. Staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good. Close to perfect.

Only downsides: No internet or phone anywhere in the hotel. Dumfries is 5 miles away; you'll pay about 8 pounds to take a taxi from town & back in, or you can catch a bus that stops about a half mile from the hotel. Small complaints, though, given the beauty of this setting.

I love this part of Scotland & hope to get back often; this is where I'll stay every time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulsaLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

i will start of by saying this is the third time Ive stayed here and it is every bit as good as before. Ive stayed in the rooms and the pods and enjoyed my stay what ever the accommodation. this last visit i was travelling alone so stayed in the hotel on a b-b basis. i was there for a 4 day mountain biking break and this was a fantastic central location for everything within 75 miles of there. the room was clean, well equipped with storage for clothes etc. had a flat screen TV with free view for your enjoyment, lovely red hot showers. what more can i say. the bed was a double and was very comfortable at night. my room was at the back of the hotel and i enjoyed watching the red squirrels playing on the bird tables and the nut hangers, its the little things in life that make it sweet. i found the staff were friendly, helpful and informative if i had a request or needed some advice, directions etc. the restaurant/ bar were well stocked and supplied excellent menus at breakfast and evening time. i wasn't there at lunch so cant honestly comment. the surroundings were idyllic and quiet, the forest is a lovely pleasant place to walk and relax or in my case to get my bike out and ride the local mountain bike course. situated close to the motorway made it an easy drive there and i will be back again soon. i paid a premium for being a solo occupant but that is everywhere so no complaints. there was ample safe secure storage for my bike and plenty of parking for guests. fires were on so never cold and nice to sit on the big sofas in the foya when relaxing with a drink. hope this covers everything. 5 stars from me all the way.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as a last minute break. On driving up to the hotel we were stunned by the beautiful location, set within acres of forest, and the hotel grounds were lovingly kept. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was fabulous, full scottish was lovely, all hail the chef!
On the negative side, we found the staff seemed a little uncaring. On the occasions we needed assistance we found it lacking: On check in we found the reception staff unresponsive - whilst my husband struggled through doors and up the stairs with 4 bags the receptionist gave an unconcerned "are you alright with them yeah?" as she carried on with what she was doing. When the tv did not work the guy on reception was unhelpful and we had to fix the problem ourselves. On other various requests we found the service lacklustre.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twounlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My sisters wedding reception was held here. You really couldn’t have asked for more, the buffet meal was delicious – there was a good range of traditional Scottish food as well as vegetarian options and a hog roast later in the evening.

We played highland games on the lawn which were organised by the managers and danced till we dropped to the fabulous band.

The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfast delicious.

We will definitely be back to explore this area and stay here again. There are camping huts on the grounds and you can hire mountain bikes locally. We saw red squirrels for the first time!

A good base to discover Scotland – close to the coast and only an hour away from the Lakes.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexalicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,075 reviews
8.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
327 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
3.9 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabie House Hotel

Address: Mabie, Dumfries DG2 8HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $117 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Georgian House standing in its own landscaped gardens in the centre of Mabie Forest yet only 3 miles from Dumfries. A family-run hotel providing friendly, personal service with flexibility to meet your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mabie House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing