We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking few days in a superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mabie House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mabie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cracking few days in a superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

In May I stayed in Dumfries centre for 2 nights while mountain biking in the area, the last day was a the Mabie trail where we spotted this place. I was informed by the bar man Chris that Mabie house was cheaper and better than where we were and I said when we returned we would enquire. Quite rightly, £50 for a single occupancy double room with breakfast is good value so I stayed 3 nights while mountain biking in the area, I was later joined by 5 colleagues and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the food was lovely, the staff were very pleasant and interested in our activities, Chris the barman was still there and good craic. Our bikes were locked away each night securely and an area for drying our wet clothes from the riding was also offered. The bathroom was a little tired but functional and clean, there is wifi which works best on the ground floor but is free and even with wet dirty gear I always felt welcome by everyone and the location is awesome.

Would I go back.......just try and stop me!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    38
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
76
122
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We found Mabie Hotel by chance and what a find, we had the most delightful evening meal of lamb, delicious. We treated ourselves to the suite which was so palatial and gorgeous. This aside the staff were most welcoming and delightful throughout. We will definitely be returning here and when visiting Carlisle will make the extra journey to stay at MABIE HOTEL. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We got married at mabie on the 7th september 2013. We could not have asked for any better all the staff helped to make our day special, the food was gorgeous aswell as the setting at mabie house. Thank you so much for letting us hold our wedding with yous. highly recommend holding your wedding here :). Love jodie and james McAleese x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodieall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for my nephew's wedding in August. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I must say that the food for the wedding was the best I have ever had at a wedding. All delicious, served at appropriate temperature and huge portions! The family decorated the venue and we all felt very much at home in this lovely house. The views from the front of the house are spectacular. We also had a meal in the restaurant on the evening before the wedding, again, delicious food and quite amazing portions. Breakfast is very good, the haggis is highly recommended. As the wedding party more or less filled the hotel, we were in a smaller room with not much of a view. Still, the room was pleasant and comfortable with a large bathroom and tons of hot water. On our next visit I will request one of the rooms at the front which have lovely views, and we will definitely visit again. Highly recommended for an intimate, cosy wedding, anything larger and you can use the wonderful tepee we saw in the gardens for the wedding later on that weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wifetagsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

3 night stay to go mountain biking. My room was really comfy, clean and spacious. Couldn't fault it. Niki and Malcolm are fantastic hosts and very friendly and helpful. Secure storage for my bikes at night as well. The food is something else....totally awesome. Probably the best food I've eaten in a hotel. The prices are great, the rooms are great, the food is great and Basil the parrot is a legend!! Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jediknight80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked 2 nights away here so that we could go mountain biking in Mabie Forest.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We arrived on a bank holiday evening and the hotel was practically deserted. The room was large considering we had paid a reduced rate. It had a very large double bed (twins zipped together), tea/coffee making facilities, a huge TV and a stunning bathroom- a large bath with overhead shower. The room we stayed in even had a stained glass window in the bathroom. A very quiet location, relaxed atmosphere and lovely meals. We ate evening meals here and on one lunchtime.

Our bikes were also locked away on an evening for us which gave us piece of mind. The location is quiet and has lovely views. As it is on the edge of the forest we were the first people on the mountain bike trails!

We also got to know the manager's dog Coco on our stay here who spent a few mornings infront of the fire in the entrance hall. We also met Basil the parrot too.

The hotel also have 'pods' that you can stay in in their grounds. We found it was cheaper to stay in the hotel rather than the 'pod' if there is only one or two people.

We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were heading up to Skye and spent the night here. Good service, excellent food, comfortable room, though bathroom a little tired. Fresh milk on request was great. Would recommend for the location, food and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
3.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
8.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabie House Hotel

Property: Mabie House Hotel
Address: Mabie, Dumfries DG2 8HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Georgian House standing in its own landscaped gardens in the centre of Mabie Forest yet only 3 miles from Dumfries. A family-run hotel providing friendly, personal service with flexibility to meet your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Mabie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabie House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing