We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful location”
Review of Mabie House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mabie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Mabie house hotel is situated in a beautiful location within Dumfries. The hotel is beautiful, the superior rooms are lovelly with breathtaking views. Very friendly accomodating staff.....and certainly worth a visit if you are a keen mountain biker as it sits right at the foot of the 7 stanes biking tracks. If you like walking in the forrest it has beatiful walks too.

Cant wait to go back

Room Tip: Superior room 9 is huge with beautiful views
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleythorpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Mabie House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 318 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

We held a conference for 90 people at the Mabie Hotel and cannot praise them enough. They went out of their way to accommodate our needs and help everything run smoothly. The venue is stunning and was perfect for outdoor workshops - we were also blessed with the weather. The bedrooms are rather more luxurious than we are used to and were most appreciated. The food was excellent and plentiful and the staff were very helpful and attentive. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for the perfect conference venue.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is devine.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickBroccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Last year on the 23rd of April my wife Judith and I were married there and it was fantastic all our guests thought it was the best wedding they had ever been to! The food and hotel staff were fantastic it was just perfect! This year on the 23rd of April Judith and I returned to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and it was great we had the best meal with fantastic room and service which made our day extra special!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here on 3rd April and also got married here after 13 years together, whilst on a family holiday in the area. What an absolute find this place is! The owner Niki could not be more helpful, especially as we live so far away in Somerset and had to organise our wedding from afar over the phone, she was always reassuring, friendly and very down to earth. Her mum and daughter were even our witnesses as there was just us and our 2 young sons. I would highly recommend the top floor room (room 12?) which was a suite - a large spacious bedroom, lovely bathroom and a separate sitting room, which they turned into a bedroom for our boys - it was perfect. Our evening meal was delicious as was the full Scottish breakfast, my 9-year old even tried haggis and liked it! As this is a family-run hotel, we found they were sensitive to the needs of young children and they even our boys to take their dog for a walk - which we did, in the gorgeous forest which lies around this beautiful country hotel. I totally agree with other recent reviews that this place is under-sold, but that is the beauty of it - it doesn't try have to try too hard, it doesn't need to. Thank you for making our day so special.

Room Tip: Room 12 is great for a family.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel was excellent- a friendly country house hotel which gave us a great stay at the foot of all the Mabie Forest mountain biking and further south to Kippford and Rockcliffe. Accommodated all of our family needs:- clean hotel rooms in close proximity, helpful staff and busy red squirrels to entertain at breakfast. It's undermarketed- their website shows few photos yet the hotel inside and out is beautiful and situated perfectly for an outdoor holiday. A gem we would recommend to all - this especially after questioning our decision to stay in the 'pods' after unfavourable TripAdvisor reviews- we looked for alternative camp sites- and in the end upgraded due to a busy Easter weekend. But the pods are beautiful for the camping and we'd come and use those happily.

Room Tip: Room 9 - beautiful wilderness views
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JojoTenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Mabie House over Easter in the Camping Pods with our 2 children (5 & 3) . My husband enjoyed the moutain biking Mabie has on offer and the kids enjoyed the walks and biking which is all on your doorstep.
The hotel staff would do anything for you even when my son had a little accident in his sleeping bag they cleaned it for us no problem.
The pods are basic but have heating and also a small light but its best to take more lighting with you. The toilet/shower is a little walk up some steps and over the lawn and is basicly just a steel hut and doesnt have heating but you can use the hotel toilets through the day.
We visited the RSPB Reserve (10 minute drive) and also Mabie Park Farm which you can walk to from the hotel. Dumfries is 5 minutes in the car and very easy to park.
The food was beautiful and very resonable in price. All I can say is we have had a fantastic weekend and hope to return soon

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Spent the days between Christmas & New Year at Mabie - PERFECT! You'll not find a better hotel than this - location; rooms; staff; food - and most of all, the ambience!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valkiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,066 reviews
8.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
23.8 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabie House Hotel

Address: Mabie, Dumfries DG2 8HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $114 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Georgian House standing in its own landscaped gardens in the centre of Mabie Forest yet only 3 miles from Dumfries. A family-run hotel providing friendly, personal service with flexibility to meet your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mabie House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing