We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mabie House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mabie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant, exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I booked a night away for a belated valentines break with my girlfriend.
The location is beautiful, near the top of a hill in the middle of a Mabie Forest. The views are spectacular from the rooms, restaurant and the grounds.
Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to have recieved a free upgrade; I'm guessing this was due to the wedding party taking place at the hotel & associated noise etc.
We were given Room 12; a suite which occupies the 3 windows at the top of the building, and includes a large bedroom, bathroom and sitting room with a large TV. The decor, space and views from the room are magnificent. I would highly recommend requesting Room 12 to any couple. My girlfriend and I booked this stay for a 'retreat' and this is exactly what we got.
We dined in the restaurant for an evening meal & for breakfast the next morning. The food was great; the service, prompt.
After our evening meal, we relaxed in the lobby with a few glasses of wine in front of the fire.
The next morning we enjoyed an early breakfast before setting off on a 3-mile walk in the forest, following the trails but still, somehow managing to get lost. I guess this is what happens when you are fully relaxed, content, your mind at ease.
There is lots to do in and around the hotel; walking, mountain biking (there is a hire shop next door if you fancy it, but don't have your own), nature (there are red squirrels aplenty roaming around the grounds of the hotel), or you could visit some of the many historical sites nearby; we visited Sweetheart Abbey (5 minute drive), and Caverlock Castle (20 minute drive).
Overall, our stay at Mabie House was exaclty what we had in mind, if not better.

Room Tip: Room 12. It is a suite, but well worth paying for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    38
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
76
122
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I are just back from a 2 night DBB weekend break. What a beautiful hotel in a stunning location with woodland forest as far as the eye can see and red squirrel aplenty in the hotel grounds. We had a lovely big room which was very comfortable with great views. The food was divine and the service top notch in the restuarant/bar with log fires and candles creating a fabulous atmosphere within the wood pannelled walls. It was excellent value for money considering the quality of the food and the surroundings both inside and outside of the hotel. We will certainly be back and recommend to family/friends.

Room Tip: We had room 9. Huge with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyangelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Recently had the pleasure of staying at the Mabie for almost 3 months.Everyone made me feel most welcome and certainly had the individual caring approach.Must mention Chris and Sam both as front of house personnel represent all that is good about staying at the Mabie; caring,interested,helpful...always ready to spend the time of day with guests...after a busy working day I always looked forward to returning back to the Mabie for it's warm welcome,delicious food and comfortable rooms.I will ceratinly make a point of returning to the Mabie and would encourage others to do similarly.

Room Tip: ask for room at front or side all have magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael_radyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

This was our third visit to Mabie House for a 3 night stop, once again we were very happy with the clean tidy room, delicious food, and friendly staff who make you feel like one of the family.
The Hotel is situated in its own grounds by the side of Mabie Forrest and is a haven for the very tame Red Squirrels which run around the gardens and grounds

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We are four ladies who were at school together in Dumfries many years ago and now meet up once a year. This small country hotel in its beautiful setting exceeded our expectations and we were impressed by the cheerful and efficient lady receptionist/waitress/photographer, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We liked the parrot, the welcoming fires and the general ambience. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flora1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Myself and 5 orther freinds stayed at the Mabie Hotel Fri & Sat for a mountain Biking weekend.
Not only was the biking fantastic but the Hotelwas First Class, the staff could not do enough for you. Frendly helpful. Even though we were coverd in mud the place was stil very clean. First class food and very smart rooms.

If your looking for a mountain bike adventure with some where warm and friendly to round the day off with a few beers ...look no further.

Room Tip: Views stunning all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a fantastic weekend here as part of a group of 6 mountain biking couples. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the food was great, but best of all the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
3.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
8.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabie House Hotel

Property: Mabie House Hotel
Address: Mabie, Dumfries DG2 8HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Georgian House standing in its own landscaped gardens in the centre of Mabie Forest yet only 3 miles from Dumfries. A family-run hotel providing friendly, personal service with flexibility to meet your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Mabie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabie House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing