We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torbay Lodge Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Torbay Lodge Guest House
Ranked #10 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a ver nice stay in this B&B wich is very close to the centre of Dumfries. Very nice shower in this large bathroom. Free wifi and a very good Scottisch breakfast.

Room Tip: We got the room on he second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newton stewart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

my wife & I stayed overnight on a recent visit to Dumfries and we were greatly impressed with this guest house, the location, room, breakfast + hospitality were all excellent. We could and we will recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

A very well-run and well-kept place, does everything a B&B should and more. Hearty breakfast with choice of porridge most welcome. Very helpful approach and welcome. A very personal view was that it was perhaps a little too well-maintained, the airy yellow colour-scheme seemed to dilute the character of what could be an authentic Victorian house in a lovely part of town. The house two doors to the left shows what a difference is made when the original windows are retained. Still, apart from that the basics are in place, and it in the right hands it could be rectified. The spotless sparkling approach sat a little strangely with the lack of a toilet brush in the wc - perhaps slightly too earthy an item for this immaculate house...?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Submitting review on behalf of sister. Stayed for 2 nights. Had a good look arround the place my self.
Owners great hospitality, could not do enough.
Very clean and imaculate.
Deccor of bedrooms very nice.
Close to town and railway station
Plenty of parking on site.
Strongly recomended anyone to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here with family and our stay was fabulous. our room was beautiful, breakfast was fabulous. will definately be back again. x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancin_jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

We have again stayed at the Torbay Lodge and it was fantastic. It was a family get together and Derek and Suzy made our stay perfect in every way as in previous visits. The rooms are spacious and clean, the parking is easy and the Breakfast could not be faulted whatsoever. I cannot fault this B&B at all and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOTT2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

All you could want from a b&b, Clean rooms comfortable beds, in walking distance of the town centre,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sholto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torbay Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torbay Lodge Guest House

Property: Torbay Lodge Guest House
Address: 31 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town centre bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Torbay Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Lodge Guest House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing