We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoughtful service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferintosh Guest House
Ranked #17 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Thoughtful service”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Needed a place to rest my head after night out, Fernitosh provides a central location, value for money accommodation, comfortable rooms, great service, fantastic breakfast. Thanks for a very comfortable night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliespringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Review of Guest
5 of 5 stars
Come back anytime. Cheers.
* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    20
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
102
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful cooked breakfast - perfect porridge, delicious bacon, eggs and potato scones. Lots of herbal teas. Excellent choice. Very warm and welcoming hosts. Rooms were warm. Beds were OK. Decor a little dated. Central location. Good advice on places to eat. A really nice vibe. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Review of Guest
5 of 5 stars
Great guests- thanks for the kind words- you are welcome back anytime!
* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorfen, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I was there a few times already and I have had always a great time. Emma and Robertson are extremly nice and their hospitality is outstanding. Thank you so much again. You made it an amazing stay and let me love Scotland even more.

All the best. Hope to see you soon
Bavarian Whisky Pipes

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Review of Guest
5 of 5 stars
Great to see you again. Most wonderful guest. Hope to see you again soon.
* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here on our way down from Fort William to Cornwall for two nights,very easy to find,right opposite the train station & a very easy walk to the town centre
Robertson & Emma were the perfect hosts,nothing was too much trouble they were very friendly & gave us advice on where to visit & eat etc
The rooms were spacious & comfortable with everything you could need
Breakfast in the morning was enough to set you up for the entire day & was cooked to perfection
We would definitley return if we are in the area again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanderson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2015
Review of Guest
5 of 5 stars
Thank you for the kind words. It was our pleasure.
* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please
• Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stopped for three days in Dumfries at Ferintosh House. Close to the train station, comfortable rooms, friendly dogs, drams of whiskey each night and great conversation. Robinson and Emma were generous hosts and we had entertaining exchanges during breakfast covering topics from health care to Scottish independence. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Review of Guest
5 of 5 stars
Thanks for the kind words- come back anytime.
* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I made a phone booking the previous day at this guest house and I'm really glad I did. Close to the railway station, it is run by a very friendly, helpful couple, Robertson and Emma. I was offered secure accommodation for my bicycle, and given advice about the town and where to get a good evening meal. My room was clean and comfortable, with television, and facilities for making coffee, tea, etc, plus biscuits and sweets. The en-suite bathroom was spotlessly clean. The welcome pack was very helpful and comprehensive. Breakfast was marvellous, and the couple were pleasant and cheerful. Although it didn't apply to me, I was pleased to see that dogs are welcome to stay there with their owners. Dumfries is a pleasant little town, and the Ferintosh is an ideal base from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Review of Guest
5 of 5 stars
Wonderful guest- hope to see you again.
* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie
Level Contributor
202 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for only one night (unfortunately) on a break-neck three day tour of the area visiting local gardens. Ferintosh is a lovely, traditional B&B that reminds me of the kind of places I used to stay with my parents when we made the same kind of short breaks - I don't mean that in any kind of a negative way, I like feeling nostalgic! Our room was clean, the bedding luxurious, the en-suite small but had everything we needed. The dram of whisky in the room is a really original touch though sadly wasted on us as neither of us as whisky drinkers. Breakfast was really good with a wide choice. Our hosts, Robertson and Emma seem to have struck a good balance between genuine friendliness and professionalism.

Nothing to do with the B&B but we found parking a bit of a worry when we first arrived as the whole area (indeed most of Dumfries) is either residents parking or 'disc' areas. There are no parking meters and its not obvious where you might obtain a 'disc' to display. The best solution, I think, is to stop somewhere near the B&B and check-in so that Robertson can give you a parking permit to display - then you're fine!

We would certainly return to the Ferintosh and would highly recommend it. There is so much to do in the area that I think a longer stay is in order next time :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainCDBuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Review of Guest
5 of 5 stars
Thanks for the kind words- great guests.
* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.2 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferintosh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferintosh Guest House

Property: Ferintosh Guest House
Address: 30 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
is opposite Dumfries Railway Station and a 5 minute walk from the town centre. There is ample parking nearby. Ferintosh Guest House is honoured to be Highly Recommended by Lonely Planet Guide Books. You will find complimentary drams of Single Malt Whisky and chocolates in every room. You get much more for your money at Ferintosh Guest House. Walkers and cyclists are most welcome. We are proud to be LGBT friendly and dog friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferintosh Guest House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing