We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B by far!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferintosh Guest House
Ranked #23 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Ferintosh was such an impressive B&B. We stayed there whilst riding from John O Groats to Lands End and the welcome we received when we arrived was incredible, above and beyond the call of duty.
We had covered 132 miles that day and rang ahead to say we would be arriving late. We ordered a Chinese takeaway which Robertson kindly paid for and kept warm for us. When we arrived, soaked through and dripping wet, our fantastic hosts welcomed us in, provided dry storage for our bikes, dried out our lycra overnight, provided comfortable beds and an outstanding breakfast.
The only bad thing about Ferintosh B&B was that one of the other guests insisted on talking to us about cholesterol for 20 mins over breakfast!
Really great B&B. Highly recommended. Thank you Robertson.
PS. Funnily enough Robertson my parents stayed with you about a month before we did, completely coincidentily! Small world!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Review of Guest

5 of 5 stars

Great bunch of guys. Very tired and wet upon arrival- still maintained a positive attitude.

* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
| * 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes

This review is the subjective opinion of a Guest House owner and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. We traveled by train thru Scotland and this B&B was a stones throw from the station. We walked to town to shop and eat. A charming path across the street leads to a field full of rabbits. Robertson cooks a lovely breakfast while wearing a kilt!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannymeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Review of Guest

5 of 5 stars

Nice people.

* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
| * 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes

This review is the subjective opinion of a Guest House owner and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Here we go again. I have stayed at Ferintosh with Emma and Robertson for the sixth time and as ever have been looked after like a king. The whole place is brilliant. The rooms are brilliant, the breakfast is brilliand with Dumfries's finest ingredients cooked to order when you want it. The weekend that I stayed was one of the best times that I have spent in Dumfries. With an introduction to some fine pubs in fine company. The cleanliness of the room was brilliant. The cleaner Angela was very good and even let me know where the locale vet was. I shall return and encourage anyone who is coming to Dumfries to stay here

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan14Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Review of Guest

5 of 5 stars

Great to see you again. Excellent guest!

* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

• Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights at Ferintosh just before Easter. This was our third visit, and we enjoy ourselves greatly every time. The rooms are well appointed and spotless, the breakfast excellent, and the hosts make you feel right at home. We recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakobT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Review of Guest

5 of 5 stars

Always happy to have you in our house. Most respectful and easy to please. All guests should have your travel experience and appreciation.

* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

• Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have tried many B&B's in Dumfries and a lot of Britain and this place is the best. The owners are so thoughtful, caring and interested in you. They try and cater for your every need. The "Dram" of whisky at night is a very nice touch and most welcome when travelling alone.

Room Tip: I like a quiet room so the best are 1,4 or 6. But i sleep like a log in them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewearytraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Review of Guest

5 of 5 stars

You are a great regular customer! Always happy to have you in our house. Thank you.

* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

• Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a great guest house with a lot of humor and laughter. Do you want to be taken good care of and wanted to be spoiled?? Wisit Ferintosh Guest House!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happygirl73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Owner at Ferintosh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Review of Guest

5 of 5 stars

One of the nicest and happiest people we have ever met. It was a pleasure. Please come see us again.

* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
| * 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

* Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes

This review is the subjective opinion of a Guest House owner and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Had a fantastic three night stay at this lovely guest house in March this year (2012). Rooms were spotless with a really comfortable bed. The breakfast is full-on and cooked to order from quality ingredients (NOT 'value' sausages or 'super-saver' bacon) Hosts Robertson and Emma are attentive to their guests every need and always friendly and helpful with advice on where to go and what to do. The complementary single malt in the rooms is also a welcome touch. Would I stay there again or recommend to friends? Most definitely, you can't go wrong with the Ferintosh...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM-England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Review of Guest

5 of 5 stars

Hope to see you again soon! You are a wonderful couple and a pleasure to have in our house.

* My ratings for this guest(s)
* 5 of 5 stars Attitude
* 5 of 5 stars Warmth/Friendliness
* 5 of 5 stars Concern For Other Guests
* 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
* 5 of 5 stars Manners/Politeness
* 5 of 5 stars Easy To Please

• Would you recommend this guest to another B&B? Yes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
2.8 mi away
Southpark House
Southpark House
#1 of 2 in Locharbriggs
128 reviews
6.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#4 of 7 in Dumfries
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferintosh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferintosh Guest House

Address: 30 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $42 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
is opposite Dumfries Railway Station and a 5 minute walk from the town centre. There is ample parking nearby. Ferintosh Guest House is honoured to be Highly Recommended by Lonely Planet Guide Books. You will find complimentary drams of Single Malt Whisky and chocolates in every room. You get much more for your money at Ferintosh Guest House. Walkers and cyclists are most welcome. We are proud to be LGBT friendly and dog friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferintosh Guest House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing