We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenlossie Guest House
Ranked #20 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed 20 & 21st April for a wedding. Lovely friendly guest house, spotlessly clean and very welcoming. Huge, well cooked breakfast. I would recommend this place if stopping over in Dunfries definately.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveshiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 145 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

My family and I stayed here on our way up to the Scottish Highlands. The owners were very nice; the rooms were clean; and the breakfast was delicious. I wish we could have stayed another night. I would recommend this place to anyone that needs a room in Dumfries.

There is a very highly rated Italian restaurant around the corner (Bruno's). If you want to eat there, be sure to book ahead. Having said that, we ended up at the pub on the corner (The Pleuchie's Howff) and were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayPDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Why is it so difficult for many guest houses and small hotels to do what this place does? It's not rocket science. Good food, served with a smile, clean, comfortable rooms and fresh looking decor.

The secret, if there is one, is that the proprietors seem to enjoy what they do and are genuinely interested in their customers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghHeretoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very enjoyable stay
Enormous breakfast - Help yourself to cereals & fruit, full cooked breakfast with a large choice
Large car parking area
10 minutes walk from town centre
Friendly & helpful hosts

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBikersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed 8th March 2012 for 1 night. This is a superb guest house in a good location about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Room was a good size with an excellent shower and was spotless. I received an e-mail from the owner prior to my visit asking if i had any special requirements. Very friendly welcome .The breakfast was perfectly cooked just as i like it. You wont get better than this! I have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

stayed for afew days 11th 12th Feb ...thanx for accommodating our dog Max....breakfast was amazing ...will be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horseandbarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights while working in dumfries,booked via late rooms,prior to arriving recieved an e mail the night before from the owner carol,just a courtesy e mail but a very nice touch.on arriving was welcomed by the lovley carol,very friendly and helpful,the rooms very nice and clean and very good value,excellent breakfast,would 1100% recommend and will 100% be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
12.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlossie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlossie Guest House

Address: 75 Annan Road, Dumfries DG1 3EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlossie Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Glenlossie Guesthouse our rooms are all en-suite, complete with facilities - minifridge in every room, ground floor disabled room available. Excellently located with private parking off the road, 5 minute walk to the town centre. This is an ideal location for mountain bikers and walkers. We are "first place" winners of "Dumfries in bloom" competition for hotels and guest house 2004/2005. Bienvenidos Hablamos Espanol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Glenlossie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlossie Guest House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing