We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dumfries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlossie Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Glenlossie Guest House
Ranked #16 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dumfries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very enjoyable stay
Enormous breakfast - Help yourself to cereals & fruit, full cooked breakfast with a large choice
Large car parking area
10 minutes walk from town centre
Friendly & helpful hosts

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBikersSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
62
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed 8th March 2012 for 1 night. This is a superb guest house in a good location about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Room was a good size with an excellent shower and was spotless. I received an e-mail from the owner prior to my visit asking if i had any special requirements. Very friendly welcome .The breakfast was perfectly cooked just as i like it. You wont get better than this! I have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

stayed for afew days 11th 12th Feb ...thanx for accommodating our dog Max....breakfast was amazing ...will be back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horseandbarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights while working in dumfries,booked via late rooms,prior to arriving recieved an e mail the night before from the owner carol,just a courtesy e mail but a very nice touch.on arriving was welcomed by the lovley carol,very friendly and helpful,the rooms very nice and clean and very good value,excellent breakfast,would 1100% recommend and will 100% be returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Glenlossie for one night in December as were we going to see a pantomime at a nearby venue. The accommodation was lovely, and the breakfast which was servied in the sunny dining room was excellent. Carol the owner is very friendly and helpful and gave us suggestions on where to eat etc. Would we return to Glenlossie if we were in Dumfries - definitely

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weejin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is all you could wish for in a b&b. Brilliant clean room with all you need. Great friendly service and breakfast was superb. Dog friendly which is on of the reasons we picked it.

This was the only snag as when we went into town could not find a single place to eat with our dog. Even drove out to the villages but no one would let us eat with our dog. Wouldn't great if the B & B could recommend some places.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here over a weekend with my partner & a friend. Easy to find, on one of the main routes in/out of Dumfries. Made to very welcome, and at home, instantly. Rooms spotless, of a good size, beds excellent. Breakfast = tremendous. Lots of choice, perfectly cooked. About a 10-15 minute stroll to the centre of town - pleasant in fair weather, but I would suggest a taxi if wet. Nothing was too much trouble, which probably indicates why the Glenlossie was full over the weekend in which we stayed.

Can't recommend this place highly enough. Will most definately book when next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stretch1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlossie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlossie Guest House

Property: Glenlossie Guest House
Address: 75 Annan Road, Dumfries DG1 3EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlossie Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Glenlossie Guesthouse our rooms are all en-suite, complete with facilities - minifridge in every room, ground floor disabled room available. Excellently located with private parking off the road, 5 minute walk to the town centre. This is an ideal location for mountain bikers and walkers. We are "first place" winners of "Dumfries in bloom" competition for hotels and guest house 2004/2005. Bienvenidos Hablamos Espanol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Glenlossie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlossie Guest House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing