We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT 4-STAR”
Review of Rivendell B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivendell B&B
Ranked #9 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2010

This was our final stop in a 3-week drive tour of Scotland and the most disappointing. Nobody to greet us on arrival. No information on the area. Old hard towels. Curtains not hung properly. Bathroom door tricky. Breakfast overcooked, mushrooms from a tin, powdered eggs. I have no idea how this B&B got a 4-star rating but they won't keep it if they don't jack up fast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seapointdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Rivendell B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

I have returned from a delightful holiday in Scotland and cannot understand why Rivendell has 4 stars when much better B&Bs do not. It is clear from reading the other comments that the owner does not live there despite making it seem that it is a family home on the website. One of the nice things about staying at a B&B is that you usually get a nice welcome and some useful local knowledge. When you arrive at Rivendell you have to ring the owner and he gives you instructions to get your key from the safe. He asks you to fill out a form for breakfast and park your car around the back. There were four of us, two adults and two children. Our breakfast table was tiny. The breakfast was disappointing. The mushrooms were from a tin, the scrambled egg was suspiciously dry and orange and the bacon had been cooked earlier. I understood that my bathroom was the one across the hall from my room and was not happy that I had to share it with another guest. This guest clearly did not know the arrangement or did not care. There was no one there to address any complaints. There is no lounge available to guests at Rivendell which many suit those who are happy to be confined to their room but I prefer B&Bs with a guest lounge and would expect a 4 star to have one! The house really needs an upgrade. The decor is tired. The windows are old and could do with being replaced with double glazing especially as the house fronts onto a very busy road. This is a business, not a family home. We think we briefly saw the owner one morning but he made no attempt to talk to us or welcome us to the area. We had to go into town to find out basic tourist information as nothing was provided, not even a map of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tourist100London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We booked this B&B solely due to price and location as well-known chain hotels in the area seemed very expensive. We paid £30 per person per night staying in a twin room on the ground floor. Having informed the owner we would be arriving around 3pm there was no-one there to greet us and the house was empty. There was a note on the door with a number to call the owner who then told us the code to get into the safe outside to get our keys and could we please park round the back. We found this very unwelcoming and had never experienced that before. In fact we only saw the owner once during our 3 night stay (briefly at breakfast one morning) as he wasn't around to check us out either. A little more friendliness would have been nice especially as we felt the room wasn't cheap at £60 per night for a small B&B. Breakfast was nothing special and very small, one egg, one tomato, tinned mushrooms etc. etc. There is a small car park at the rear and thick gravel from the entrance to the car park making pulling along suitcases almost impossible. The room and bathroom were not terribly clean - lots of dust and cobwebs; no shelf, towel rail or hook in the bathroom; the bathroom door was almost impossible to close; the curtains in the room did not meet in the middle; there was no key or knob to open the wardrobe; TV reception was awful, very fuzzy and hissy. We just couldn't understand how this B&B could possibly have earned a 4 star rating. On the plus side it was in a fairly good central location, had free wi-fi and biscuits with the tea-making facilities!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pol_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Having just returned from our stay we were very disappointed with this B & B. We stayed for one night on our way up to Fort William. The room was very dusty with no little touches like soap in bathroom, flannels or tissues. The towels were extremely hard. For this stay we were charged £58. On our return visit the following week we were given another room, yet again very dusty. The bathroom in this room was terrible. Above the shower the ceiling was all mouldy. The shower door was very dirty at the bottom but that was the same in the other room we stayed in. The mirror in the bathroom seemed to have slipped down and when we put our toiletries on the shelf above the toilet everything just slipped on the floor due to the vibration of the fan. The breakfast was not very good quality. This time we were charged £60! We cannot understand how this B & B gets a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artarn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a beautiful Arts and Crafts house which has been lovingly restored and tastefully furnished. The room was remarkably luxurious for the price, and very restful and quiet. The breakfast was excellent. There are lots of thoughtful touches. One of the best guest houses I've stayed in. And for handy for central Dumfries, but with private parking.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Sadly no one was there to greet us when we arrived on Bank Holiday Saturday, a call to the owner enabled us to access via a key in the safe. A note was left on the door for some other guests but not for us. The decor is fine, a little tired and there is an aroma of something as you walk in. Accomodation is fair, but no friendliness about the place. In fairness we had just stayed in two superb B&Bs further north also rated 4 star and so it compared unfavourably with those. I don't think it is worthy of 4 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This is a lovely B&B and a useful stopover or base from which to tour southern Scotland. Good quality accommodation is matched by a warm welcome and a 'can do' attitude of the host, Bruce and his family.
Breakfast at Rivendell is one of the best "full Scottish" breakfasts , ever.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RideTheLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,068 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#19 of 52 in Dumfries
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell B&B

Address: 105 Edinburgh Road, Dumfries DG1 1JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $85 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome and comfortable stay is guaranteed at this striking Charles Rennie Macintosh inspired Arts and Crafts Mansion situated in mature, award winning grounds close to Dumfries town centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to the highest standards. Drying facilities and secure storage is available for cyclists, golfers and walkers. We have free Wi-Fi connection and multi channel digital television in all of our bedrooms. We also have a large secure car park. We are easy to locate and an ideal base for touring the historic and scenic Dumfries and Galloway Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rivendell B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell B&B Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing