We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little treasure”
Review of Rivendell B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rivendell B&B
Ranked #8 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent Saturday night here and it was fantastic! Very comfortable room with fantastic ensuite and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast was lovely, with great choice and served by very helpful and pleasant staff

I will certainly return

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieLou92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_Harper_RD, Owner at Rivendell B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2015

Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Bruce Harper,
Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Rivendell B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 253 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Room very pretty, shower very powerful, lovely fourposter bed. Missed breakfast , our fault. Lovely valentines weekend away. Not far from dumfries itself however would need to drive in, or get a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markandbeth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Rivendell is located within easy distance of the Town Centre and its facilities which was an excellent place to have a stroll after my business meeting. The hotel itself is located in large grounds which are well maintained and litter free. It is an impressive and picturesque building also in good order and well maintained. It comprises both in-house and external chalet/motel type rooms and luckily I had external accommodation which would have been my choice of preference anyway as it absolutely minimises any disruption to in-house guests and enhances the privacy of my comings and goings. The room I had, which seemed in keeping with the remainder of the property, was extremely clean and very, very well appointed with a large high quality easy to use multi-channel wall mounted TV, bedside stereo docking station unit (very useful), an hugely comfortable double bed, ample storage and coffee/tea/bottled water facilities with a good selection of "snacking" biscuits. The shower room en suite was impressive both in terms of aesthetics and performance(the shower was astounding for an un-pumped system!). The room generally was furnished and finished to a very good quality and was warm, cosy and comfortable. The rear car park provides adequate parking for 10-12 cars however MPVs may struggle, but overspill discrete parking to the front alleviates that. The gardens are mature and also well maintained and for family visits boast an impressive array of kids play areas and play ground facilities which are secure and safe. The breakfast (included within the tariff) apart from providing all the healthy options, also caters for a "tick-sheet" self/individual selection for a cooked breakfast(ordered the night before), the quality of which was superb and unusually was geared to quality, not quantity. Portions were ideal and minimal waste, if any,was generated, which unlike a lot of establishments these days, give you a lot but not of the same quality and creates a lot of waste - such cost(s) are normally born by the end user!! The dining room is quaint, efficient, roomy and well laid out looking over the gardens which can be accessed in summer through French Windows/Doors. The whole establishment oozes a feeling of cleanliness, friendliness and comfort. The staff are highly efficient, well presented, polite and friendly without being "in you face". The Proprietor is an amazing personality and great conversationalist. He is obviously well travelled and his diversity of knowledge/interests coupled with a very good sense of humour leads to many a good exchange which is extremely gratifying.
No-one and nothing is perfect however, and although nearly there, just a couple of minor gripes.
It may have been an oversight, but I would have liked to have seen some tissues in the room and whilst there may be Local Authority issues at work here certainly a dedicated hotel restaurant and bar would be a great benefit. Given the operational efficiencies already at work within Rivendell I feel sure such an investment would be a great commercial success. Whilst a minor hardship, you are literarily only a few minutes walk from some very good eating "houses", but the only problem is that should you be on a weekend visit you may find a few restrictions due to reservations and bookings.
Overall, would I go again...........you bet!!!
Many thanks Rivendell, well done.

Gary Catignani, Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GARLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Rivendell is a lovely building with lovely rooms and is decorated beaurifully. The DIY check in was fine with us, as we were just heading straight out. Room was spotlessly clean. The shower lacked power, which let it down. The breakfast in the morning was ok, could've done with a bit of black pudding and either a hash brown or potato scone. For the price paid, it was really good value. Rivendell is close to the town centre, but far enough away to be quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amc300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Rivendell B & B, it was a wonderful little place, the breakfast was great especially the sausages , the room was clean, tidy and warm. Was a nice home away from home for a night. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: at the back
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went to stay at Rivendell B & B for one night only as we were going star gazing in the Dark Park at Galloway Forest. We arrived to a very warm welcome by the owner who was fun and very friendly. Our room was lovely - cosy, clean, warm and inviting, and as a Scandinavian, I totally appreciated the shower which was hot and had superb water pressure. The bed was just right - slept like a baby. Breakfast was a highlight - very tasty and hot, the coffee just how we like it and the service provided by the staff was impeccable.
We are going back again.. - that is a certainty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metalmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Clean, spacious large room , good facilities, just not very personable.

Owners not there to meet and greet you, which wasn't too much of an issue, do it yourself check in. This morning at breakfast not sure if we were being served breakfast by the owners or staff. Not personable or engaging.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kingskingscliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,066 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#19 of 52 in Dumfries
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell B&B

Address: 105 Edinburgh Road, Dumfries DG1 1JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $85 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome and comfortable stay is guaranteed at this striking Charles Rennie Macintosh inspired Arts and Crafts Mansion situated in mature, award winning grounds close to Dumfries town centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to the highest standards. Drying facilities and secure storage is available for cyclists, golfers and walkers. We have free Wi-Fi connection and multi channel digital television in all of our bedrooms. We also have a large secure car park. We are easy to locate and an ideal base for touring the historic and scenic Dumfries and Galloway Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rivendell B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell B&B Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing