We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B, very comfortable, good food, friendly service and cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rivendell B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rivendell B&B
Ranked #8 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B&B, very comfortable, good food, friendly service and cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for two nights here in October 2012 and it was very pleasant. Really great, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable and large rooms and for single occupancy of a double room it was only £35 / night. Couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    58
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
23
121
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

C Farrell & K Bell

We have been staying at Rivendell since it opened 10 years ago. We travel around Scotland every year and a stay in this superb establishment is always an automatic inclusion in our plans. Bruce has looked after us and on occasion, elderly family members accompanying us, and all that he provides is of the highest possible quality. The style and taste of the interior of this beautiful property is an indication of the high level of service available to guests. I think by now we have experienced every room and each one is as beautiful as the rest. The rooms are comfortable and stylish, breakfasts are delicious, the whole experience is one of true welcome. We don't consider any other accommodation during our visits to Dumfries as we have always stayed here - in the best one on offer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Picked up Rivendell house from Tourist info brochure and booked with no fuss 20 mins before arrival. Room clean, warm, welcoming and atmospheric due to the Rennie McIntosh style. Slept like a log in the 4 poster with en suite facilities A1. Bruce proved to be an excellent host, providing us with a terrific breakfast after which he more than obliged with a historic commentary on the house. No hesitation to book again should we be on another of our seven stanes adventures.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner & I stayed at Rivendell for 8 days recently & had an absolutely wonderful time. Our room was really comfortable, clean & well equipped. The Scottish Breakfast was excellent & got my partner into loving porridge - although she only managed half portions. It's a fairly short walk into the centre of Dumfries & really easy to manage in about 15/20 minutes. There is an excllent pub in town for evening meals called The Caven Arms & the Italian restaurant across from Rivendell was also impressive. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time & would'nt hesitate to stay again - in fact we'll certainly pay Bruce & his staff another visit sometime. For the record, we're a couple in our 50's. !

Room Tip: Rooms to the front, on the first floor are gernerous & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was visiting a friend in the area and only needed to stay one night .I had a great room at back of property no 6 on ground floor a very well equipped room a four poster bed large flat screen tv, tea and coffee.Shower/bath room was to a very high standard a lovely room over all . The breakfast was great.I was recommended to stay here by my brother who stayed at rivendell a few years ago, people very friendly i will stay here again as i come to dumfries quite a lot to play golf

Room Tip: i was only in room 6 and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed only one night at Rivendell in late August as we were on our way to Inverness to see our family. The house, locally known as the "haunted house" has been rescued by the current owner and restored to a very high standard in keeping with Charles Rennie Mackintosh. The welcome we received was wonderful the room, downstairs no 6, was next to the dining room for breakfast. Breakfast is ordered the night before and at a time that you request (withing their serving time) and was really lovely. My husband and I would have no doubts whatsoever in recommending the Rivendell to anyone. Hope to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: We only stayed on night in room 6 downstairs which was at the back of the property away from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuddles1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had the pleasure of being allocated (work related) 2 nights at the Rivendell Bed and Breakfast, Guest House, Edinburgh Road, Dumfries.

I can honestly say that I felt that I had been given the golden egg. As far as I am concerned everything was 5 star plus, I cannot remember being catered for to such a high standard in any other B&B, Guest House or Hotel.

The room was decorated to a high standard, on suite, TV and coffee facilities all at hand. The shower was powerful and bed was extremely comfortable along with the blackout curtains I really struggled to get out of bed.

The breakfast had a considerable choice from the usual fry up, cereal, yoghurt, orange juice, toast and coffee. I really had to be careful not to over indulge.

I also had the pleasure of visiting Casa Mia for evening dinner an arrangement between the Rivendell and Casa Mia.

As I say 5 star and I am so looking forward to any furrther training courses that will require and overnight stay.

Room Tip: I was allocated room 4, would recommend however have no knowledge of other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.6 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell B&B

Property: Rivendell B&B
Address: 105 Edinburgh Road, Dumfries DG1 1JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome and comfortable stay is guaranteed at this striking Charles Rennie Macintosh inspired Arts and Crafts Mansion situated in mature, award winning grounds close to Dumfries town centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to the highest standards. Drying facilities and secure storage is available for cyclists, golfers and walkers. We have free Wi-Fi connection and multi channel digital television in all of our bedrooms. We also have a large secure car park. We are easy to locate and an ideal base for touring the historic and scenic Dumfries and Galloway Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivendell B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell B&B Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing