We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - from a Salmon fishermans view”
Review of Rivendell B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivendell B&B
Ranked #6 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb - from a Salmon fishermans view”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have been to Rivendell twice with my partner, twice on my own and twice with a fishing buddy. Each and every time it has been welcoming and accommodating to a fisherman's needs. I am also a diabetic and Bruce has gone out of his way to make sure that I have everything I need to make my stay easy. It is close to the river, with lovely walks. Plenty for a family to do and see in town. The surrounding countryside is a must to visit. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable, with an excellent plentiful breakfast to set a fisherman up for the day. I will continue to return each year, sometimes twice a year. Coming back again later this year.

Room Tip: Rivendell is set back from the road in it's own grounds, so there is no traffic noise from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    59
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
23
126
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was our second stay in this beautiful property. The room for two adults and two children consisted of a kingsize bed, one single and a fold away bed. After a brilliant afternoon shopping in Dumfries, we came back to a wonderful hot bath and plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Our host Bruce was very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Now the absolute best bit. The breakfast! We asked for an early breakfast and this was no trouble at all. We were given a tick list the night before, to choose exactly what we wanted for breakfast.The quality of the food was outstanding. We enjoyed our stay so much, that we will definately return again and would gladly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and were very pleased. The room (number 5) was very large with a beautiful wooden 4 poster bed. The house was full of Art Deco features which were beautifully displayed. Excellent breakfast, chosen the night before so you couldn't change your mind on the morning. The house was a little too far from Dumfries town itself to be able to walk in, probably ok if it's nice weather, but it wasn't!

Plenty of parking for the car.

Towels changed daily.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAMMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintinhull, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Rivendell was our first stop on a driving tour of Scotland and Bruce set a high standard for his peers. The property is picturesque, the rooms spacious and spotless and the food of a high standard. Although we arrived without a booking,Bruce was a gracious host. He shared a welcome drink with us on arrival and he sent us off with concise and easy to follow directions for our journey north. He even understands Australian humour!

Sandra, New South Wales, Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We called the B&B from down the road about 6.00pm and were lucky enough to secure accommodation as the property was otherwise fully booked. Our room was large, spacious and well-equipped - the ensuite bathroom even had a bath tub! The owner was happy to provide information and give directions to the services we required (ie. bank, dinner venue & laundry to wash our clothes). He even gave us travel directions to our next town, including a pub along the route that he recommended for lunch. The property was a large B&B with multiple rooms and operated more like a small, private hotel - the spacious and well-appointed rooms enabled us to enjoy our stay in comfort and privacy. Breakfast was ordered in advanced and served promptly at our own individual table. The served breakfast was of high quality. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtm7276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I apologize to Bruce for taking this long to write our review! We rented out the whole B&B for our wedding party the nights before our wedding. Bruce was great about getting back to me with all the "pre-wedding" questions and answers, and accomodating all my extra requests - even letting us move around the breakfast tables for a makeshift hair and make-up salon!

Breakfasts were delicous, we especially loved the mushrooms and the eggs were perfect (bright yellow - how they are supposed to be)! We walked into town easily as a group and enjoyed the bars and pubs of Dumfries.

I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed only 1 night as we were going to visit friends further north. We arrived a bit later than planned and the door was locked. We telephoned the number Bruce had left on the door and he kindly told us how to work the keypad and we could let ourselves in as he was doing his shopping when we phoned. The room was large but the decor was dark and the furniture was dark wood so it seemed the whole room was dark and had to put lights on. The bed was so comfortable and good selections of tea/herbal and normal coffees and hot chocolate. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was delicious. We would defininately recommend the Rivendell and would definately like to return some day. Well done Bruce.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms at the back look onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annbobSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.6 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell B&B

Property: Rivendell B&B
Address: 105 Edinburgh Road, Dumfries DG1 1JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome and comfortable stay is guaranteed at this striking Charles Rennie Macintosh inspired Arts and Crafts Mansion situated in mature, award winning grounds close to Dumfries town centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to the highest standards. Drying facilities and secure storage is available for cyclists, golfers and walkers. We have free Wi-Fi connection and multi channel digital television in all of our bedrooms. We also have a large secure car park. We are easy to locate and an ideal base for touring the historic and scenic Dumfries and Galloway Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rivendell B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell B&B Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing