We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice Hockey Play Offs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ice Hockey Play Offs”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a great time, in what we spent at the hotel. Rooms were fantastic, Breakfasts were plentiful and great choice. Anna was a star and nothing was too much for her, from working all over the hotel. This girl deserves a medal or some recognition she is a credit to the place.

One very small negative was the bar area was not the best to sit and chat due to the size and layout.

Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raverboue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Many Thanks for writing a review on the hotel.

I am delighted to here enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and nothing was too much trouble for Anna she is a wonderful member of the team and your comments has been shared with her.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel again over the summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    350
    125
    60
    33
See reviews for
155
520
25
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

after many uncomfortable nights spent in the dumfries travelodge and premier inn we discovered this fantastic hotel last yr and have stayed a further 2 times since. beautiful rooms and delicious breakfast make an overnight stay with family far more attractive :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review on the hotel, i have passed on your comments to my team and they are delighted you enjoyed your stay,

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel next time you are in Dumfries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Clare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for business purposes in January 2014. The hotel is modern and comfortable but service is extremely poor. The WiFi is terrible, the receptionist tried to give us directions to the town centre and could not even locate the hotel on the tourist map (which she provided) and then gave us incorrect directions. When I returned to my room after a day of meetings housekeeping staff were cleaning the room.....at 5.45 in the evening!!
We had dinner in the Marco Pierre White restaurant on site. DO NOT EAT HERE. The staff were appalling. The girl who served us clearly did not want to be there, two different menus were given to people at our table which caused confusion when ordered and no apologies were made. This could be forgiven if the food was good but we would have had a better meal if we went for some cheap & cheerful pub grub in town.
The hotel and restaurant are lovely in terms of decor and surroundings but both need better management.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB_Co_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Many Thanks for taking to write a review on the hotel.

As the new General Manager of the hotel, i am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel, you can rest assured that your comments will be passed onto all the relevant teams. We aim to exceed guest expectations at every opportunity and i will be making changes & spending time with the teams to ensure we delivery this.

I do hope i have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, enabling you to experience the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Decided to stay in Dumfries just to eat at MPW restaurant. It was dismal. Hotel was tired. Understaffed - reception stripped a bed in an empty room to provide the linen for our children's fold out couch.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dabdoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
any thanks for taking time to a write a review on your recent visit to the hotel

I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your recent visit due to the level of service you received. As the recently appointed new General Manager of the hotel, i can assure all your comments will be passed on to my restaurant team to be review. I will be spending a considerable amount of time with them to ensure our service levels meet the quality of food and we exceed quest expectations at every turn.

I do hope you will consider visiting the recent again over the summer months to experience the changes & improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Aston having taken advantage of an online deal. On my first visit, I gave it an excellent rating and I really couldn't fault it, on this visit, I think that it's slipped a bit, like a few previous reviewers. Prior to our visit I asked the hotel if they could see if it was possible to give us a room to the rear of the hotel looking onto beautiful Gardens as on our first visit we were overlooking the car park ( all the odd numbered rooms look onto the front). Understandably, the hotel couldn't guarantee this. On check in, which was pleasant, we were given a room overlooking the front again. The room was nice and clean like our previous visit. Our evening meal was very tasty, although both the starters were certainly not on the generous side. Again the mains were very rich and tasty but the same complaint regarding the portion side. My observations again, were based on our previous visit. The dining room was certainly a bit on the quiet side and lacked atmosphere, although I couldn't fault the service. We retired to the bar area, but there was not a sole to be seen, therefore we retired for the evening. Breakfast was tasty, although there was a distinct shortage of fresh juices, none in fact as I had to ask for some and the eggs that were left were pretty dire. No mushrooms left either. Pretty poor considering that there was bit many guests having breakfast on our arrival which was 10.15. Overall, our deal was pretty good and that is reflected in my scoring, please don't let it slip Aston!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel,

Whilst i am pleased you enjoyed your stay overall, it seems there a few issues that marred your stay. As the new General Manager, i am spending time with the team to ensure we consistently deliver on all levels at every opportunity.

I do hope i have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel over the summer months
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at the Aston two years ago and had enjoyed our stay so we decided to book again as "doonhammers" .We stayed nearly 3 weeks in a executive room 225 , the extra space being very useful!! The bed was comfortable and the rooms were tidied every day. Reception staff were friendly and helpful particularly Danielle and we were always greeted with a friendly smile - always welcoming. Breakfast was a hearty cooked Scottish breakfast -consisting of haggis, tattie scones, baked beans , sausages, bacon and fried eggs plus the usual toast , cereals fruit compote muffins etc and you could order your eggs freshly made- scrambled /boiled/omelette etc. and also poached fish so all in all I thought a good breakfast choice. We paid 89.00 pounds per night which also included a set dinner ( few choices not one) and 120.00pounds on Saturday as it was Easter. The only downside that I could see were staff who seemed a bit lost as they were in training but willing to be helpful. It was full on when we were there and the tables did need to be cleared at breakfast some days but we were always given a table and pretty much the tables were set straight away so I did not see that as a problem . Shauna was always efficient and charming (dinner)and Hannah(dinner and breakfast) was always friendly chatty and helpful as well . Aston Hotel is situated in a beautiful location and it is peaceful and quiet. There are areas other than the bar area if you want to catch up with friends ( at the back ) for coffee /drinks and Stuart was always friendly and helpful as well . All in all the Aston is definitely worth staying with its helpful staff ( with the gorgeous Dumfries accent !!)and location .

Room Tip: We were cool couple of night and when we mentioned it the house maid brought in a heater asap. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambewarra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a wonderful review on the hotel.

As the new General Manager i am delighted you had a wonderful stay at the hotel & a number of staff made this memorable for you. We have a number of new team members in the hotel and they are a great asset to the hotel.

I do hope you come to stay again, when travelling in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I can't understand the negative reviews about this hotel stayed here on sat 3rd May after a wedding and all I can say is from the check in girl to the bar server after wedding at the easterbrook and the waitress at breakfast all staff gave there all. The rooms were very nice and the breakfast was good if anything could have been a little warmer but that's my taste. Overall very good

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 186534Shazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Many thanks for writing a lovely review on your recent stay at the hotel.

It wonderful to hear guest enjoy there stay & there a number of teams members that enhanced the experience. Please be assured that your comments have been passed to all departments.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again over the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing