We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aston Hotel Dumfries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The stay was excellent and the only criticism would be after arriving at the stated check-in time we had an hours wait in the lobby for the room to be serviced. More contact between check in and housekeeping should have taken place as although the hotel was full on Saturday night it wasn't on Sunday.
The room was very comfortable and well designed and importantly quiet at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked this break on a deal and were very pleasantly surprised at the excellent standard. Hotel is very relaxing with professional, pleasant staff. Very peaceful, set in lovely grounds and convenient for many places of interest. Room was clean, spacious, warm, with a very large, comfortable bed. Food in restaurant was delicious and well presented. Wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BerylJean47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We decided to have a short break at the Aston Hotel Dumfries. On arrival we were very satisfied with the room which was clean and warm. The room was well organised (with sockets near the mirror) and had all the amenities we needed. The staff are all helpful and keen to assist. We decided to have our evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was fantastic. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked the Aston for a stop-over in Dumfries during a weekend away. It is in a quiet location on the edge of town with car parking on site and not too far away from the entrance (part of the reason we chose it).

The room was comfortable and clean with a decent sized bed. It wasn't huge but it was spacious enough for two people and was warm. Have to agree with other comments about the pillows - they were enormous and very hard, but that won't be an issue for everyone. The hotel was quite busy but there was very little noise in the corridors at night (which can be an issue in some places).

The staff were polite and helpful although there weren't enough of them on at breakfast and they struggled to cope with the numbers eating (although they did try their best).

Great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had two nights at this hotel as part of a package which included dinner on the first night, wine in the room and a cream tea on arrival. Very impressed with the hotel, the accommodation and the service we received. Breakfast was excellent. Ate dinner both nights at the hotel, couldn't fault it. Very slight criticism about the pillows which were hard and lumpy. Will definitely go back to this hotel when in that part of Scotland and an ideal base for the Galloway Forest,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humphriesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were a group of 5 in 3 bedrooms staying for 2 nights on a fantastic deal. Bedrooms were comfortable, clean and in particular our mum's accessible room was huge.
We dined there both nights and food was very good.
The hotel grounds are glorious.
Only one problem - our deal included a bottle of prosecco in each of the 3 rooms. When we asked for a couple of ice buckets we were refused and were offered replacement cold bottles from the fridge. Extraordinary that a hotel cannot provide this on demand - what would they have done if we had asked for their best champagne on room service?
Lastly - the staff were excellent In particular Danielle at reception and Kerry Ann and Jasmine in the restaurant. Keep these ladies Aston Hotel, they are a credit to you.
We hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stay here about once a year for business and it is consistently very good. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Restaurant good and breakfast excellent. Main building is a historic landmark (although attached building where the rooms are located is strangely much different). The hotel is in a nice historic park like area where weather permitting a very nice walk is possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
668 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: $70 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing