We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for golf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked for a party of 16 for our annual golf weekend. Aston tried extremely hard to help us book our preferred courses (Southerness which is fabulous and Powfoot which is good). We had a few issues with changes of staff over the last few months in finalising arrangements, but toward the end the senior staff were very helpful indeed. Thank you Mike for your personal attention and a huge thank you to Shonagh for going miles out of her way to ensure everything went smoothly. And to Duncan and his colleagues at reception and Terry for our catering. We had a private room for dinner and breakfast, which was excellent, down to the personalised menus. especially for our three impromptu guitarists and the wedding party who were attracted to join us till 4 a.m.! And no other guests were disturbed due to good soundproofing in the 'original' building.

We were given excellent stay rates, our rooms were all very good and the lovely setting is a plus. Personally I discovered our sat nav had taken us in the wrong entrance to the park which proved a challenge so check directions. Our weather proved incredibly lucky-three days of blue skies sandwiched between a monsoon on leaving and a hurricane on arriving back, in Edinburgh.
So thank you Aston. A problem solved is worth its weight in good relations and thank you too for the exemplary service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley6259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Delighted you enjoyed your weekend as indeed I assured you that you would I was however concerned after hearing the weather forecast so pleased that you managed to play as planned.

Sorry I missed you due to annual leave however maybe another time.Shonagh our Sales Manager has booked golf lessons after her conversations with you, great! With no bedrooms above the bar as you say ‘sound proofing good ‘. I heard the wedding enjoyed the evening as well
Thank you again Best Regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

My partener and i are just back from the Aston and found it a lovely place,though you really need a car to go farther than Dumfries.The grounds are beautiful to stroll around.Very clean and welcoming.Only complaint was we couldnt get heating to work and our room was freezing!! We did mention it twice and was told it took time to come on.Ours didnt!!Could do with bigger lounge area, but apart from that, i would say go for it!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkchampagneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you, for this review. Appreciate your point on the car as Dumfries is an excellent centre for viewing the many attractions and sights within the region of Dumfries & Galloway. Sorry to learn of your experience with the heating which is from a main unit with individual controls to bedrooms. My apologies .We have two lounges and wondered if you missed the Elizabeth lounge just off reception which is separate from the main bar. Thanks for recommending. Kind regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 4 nights DB&B in mid September,rooms large and spotlessly clean with super king size bed and super power shower.Food excellent,with wide variety,cooked by 5 star chef.Staff very friendly can;t do enough for you.Only small gripe,twice booked a table for dinner and was kept waiting forty minutes both times not informed why.On leaving the table second time,TERRY the restuarant manager asked what was wrong,as he could see by our faces we were not happy,he apoligized for this and offered us two complimentary drinks which was a nice gesture,CHEERS TERRY.If this happens to you,see TERRY right away he will sort it out.This hotel should be classed 5 STAR,as everything about is first class and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thanks for this review happy East Kilbride. Pleased you enjoyed your stay. It would appear we were busier than expected during your stay, however forty minutes is too long even with a drink ! Thanks for bringing it to my attention and pleased that Terry dealt with the situation to your satisfaction. Kind Regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a great hotel you could not fault anything.One of the best hotels we have stayed in .The rooms are nice and quiet the food is very good and the staff excellent.Only problem we had was finding the hotel .Dumfries is not an easy place to drive around as it is a maze of one way streets.
We would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the car park but it still had a nice view of the pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blacklaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Cannot fault this review. Thank you for taking the time to post. Delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel during your stay. On the point off finding us, can I suggest following the signs to D & G Royal Infirmary. We are located just past the hospital on the same side at the entrance to the Crichton Estate on mini roundabout. Hope this helps Thanks also for recommending. Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I booked a 4 night Dinner, B & B break at this hotel based on the reviews we read here - and we were not disappointed. The food is fabulous and the Cullen Skink must be an in-house speciality because it is wonderful - so good that I ordered it 3 out of 4 times as a starter! The breakfast is great too, plenty of choice, and all the staff without exception were friendly and attentive with nothing too much trouble. The room we had was lovely, clean and quiet (very important for us - noise has spoiled other breaks for us before), and the bed was huge and the shower facilities modern and clean. The rooms were cleaned daily and freshened up to a very high standard, and the cleaning ladies were also very pleasant and always smiled and said hello. The hotel is set in fantastic grounds that made for lovely walks, and the whole area is full of very interesting places to visit - we especially enjoyed Thrieve Castle, Thrieve Gardens, Shambellie House which houses the Scottish National Costume Museum, and Caerlaverock Castle. The whole of the Solway coast is lovely and we even saw Ospreys while we visited. All in all this was the most fantastic value for money and a super memorable wee break. We would have no hesitation in returning or recommending this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thanks for this comprehensive review. You certainly have kept yourselves occupied with seeing all the places you have visited including the Ospreys! Your various comments on the hotel are excellent and will certainly be brought to the attention of all staff concerned Thank you again and for recommending us. Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights DB&B in mid September. The room was large, well furnished, clean and tidy. The restaurant although on the small side was again clean and tidy. There was a good choice of food on the menu. The food was well prepared and excellent to taste. Couldn't ask for better. All of the staff throughout the hotel were courteous and helpful. An excellent break and I
would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We could not ask for better comments!. Thank you for this positive review on your recent stay and using the Aston for your leisure break. Hopefully will see you again Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights at beginning of September.
The room was very nice with a fabulously large, comfortable bed.

We ate both nights in the restaurant which has a good variety of food to suit all tastes.

Most of the staff were very attentive and friendly.

We would certainly return to stay here again if we were in the area.

I would say it was a better experience than our most recent stay in a Hilton and the star rating does not do the hotel justice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the estate with well kept gardens rather than a room at the back overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Any0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Excellent feedback. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Especially pleased that you mention the staff and will ensure they are made aware of your comments which will be much appreciated. Hopefully see you again Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
335 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: $68 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing