We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel a couple of weeks ago whilst attending a wedding. I thought the staff were very helpful and polite. When we arrived there was a delay of about 10 minutes (max) before check-in which is really no big deal, but the gent on reception apologised and when we arrived in our room there was a bottle of wine and chocolates as a complimentary gesture! Now that's what I call great customer service!

The room was lovely and spacious, breakfast was lovely in the morning also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hi Tracey E

Thanks for this positive feedback. Everyone checking at the same time as you are aware created the delay unfortunately. Thanks for being so understanding. Pleased you appreciated the wine & choc’s. Hopefully see you again. Best Wishes Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    342
    121
    56
    33
See reviews for
150
514
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding. We thought the price was quite reasonable £90 for the room and breakfast for 2. When we got there the room was clean and fine but odd things like what you would expect where not there. They had no kettle or tea and coffee facilities which you get in basic BB's?
My fiance wanted to sit and do some buisness on the laptop and we asked if they had internet service for this and when we got there it didnt work in the room so he told the reception he said they would re-boot but it didnt make a difference. He therefore was told to sit in the bar area and it would work and it still didnt work. They shouldnt advertise this if it doesnt work as this was essential for him and nothing was offered to help fix etc....
The breakfast was fine but the hotel had said they would do private breakfast for the bride and groom which when we all turned up they said they didnt have a clue about this but the bride had been told this was part of her staying for the expereince ( i thought this was really disappointing for her as she had told 20 of us to come down) Due to us all coming down at same time we ended up cueing for breakfast and they ran out of stuff and people had to wait so some people sat and had breakfast for one instead of with who they came down with.
We only stayed due to the wedding and i dont think we woudl be encouraged to re-book if the same things were to happen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Se_Lou_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for this review. Surprised to see your comment on the Tea & Coffee as all bedrooms have them in the drawer under the TV.

Appreciate your comments on the Wi Fi as we have been experiencing problems recently. We are in the process of having this resolved so that our normal service can be resumed. My apologies on this point.

Private dining for breakfast can sometimes be accommodated but is not standard and has to be pre booked. Due to other business on this occasion it could not be done.

Thanking you for your feedback which is appreciated . Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here with our 1 year old boy last summer just for one night. The room was very clean and very well decorated, the shower room was excellent too and all the communal areas were perfectly clean and well done. We were supplied with all we needed including a travel cot all set up for us. We ordered room service for dinner and it arrived quite quick and was delicious. In the morning we went downstairs for a buffet breakfast, it was mostly business people there having their breakfast but still some families so we felt at ease and wasn't that worried if our little boy started playing up. The food was perfect. We thought the service we received throughout was impeccable and would definitely go back. I would stay here for a week if I could :). We had a really good nights sleep in a massive bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hi Kate B

‘Want to go back’ Very pleased to welcome you back. Thank you for this positive review on your recent stay. Delighted we met all your expectations and requirements for your stay with your family. Best Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

we held our wedding reception at the Aston hotel On the 20th of July. Everything about our stay was wonderful. All the staff were very friendly and helpful (a special thanks to Crystal our wedding co-ordinator who made everything run like clockwork) we had booked several rooms which all our guests thought were Beautiful and clean. Our meals in the resturant were all delicious (including our wedding dinner) and breakfast. we had the use of the Johnstone function suite which was perfect for our party. The hotel is situated in beautiful grounds and our wedding here could not have been any more perfect. A big thanks to everyone at the Aston for making our day a very special one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Wonderful stay, wonderful review. What more could we ask for. Thank you for choosing the Aston for your special day. Crystal was delighted to assist you in ensuring your wedding went as you would wish and also to be a part of your special day. Your thanks have been passed on to everyone else involved. Every happiness to you both for the future. Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk region
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Third time we have stayed at this hotel and it never changes , always clean, good food and very friendly staff. This hotel has a fabulous setting with wonderful grounds and scenery. Ten minutes from the centre of Dumfries .which has some great history and 5 mins from the nearest golf course, what more could you ask for.
We visit relatives in Dumfries and would never think of staying anywhere else, it should be 4 star hotel and can't figure out why it is not !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DouglasFalkirkregion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review, Great that you have stayed three times. Just what we aim for, satisfied customers that keep returning. Look forward to seeing you for a forth time. In the meanwhile best wishes Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from 2 night break to Dumfries. Hotel positioned in lovely well kept grounds. Bedrooms are a good size with a massive bed and spotlessly clean. The en-suite only had a shower, no bath. This didn't bother us but some people may prefer a bath.
The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious, something on the menu for all tastes. The service was very quick and efficient and there was plenty of choice at breakfast too.
If in the area again I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Brilliant review covering all aspects of your stay Thank you for taking the time to post. Appreciated by all the team. Look forward to a return visit. Kind Regards ,Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were travelling home by car / ferry to Northern Ireland after visiting family in South of England. Booked this hotel for one night but when we found how good it was we stayed for a second night. Very impressed with the Aston Hotel ...we had room service meal first night and then ate in the brasseire / restaurant on the second.....both meals were very good quality and reasonably priced.....also the breakfasts were excellent.
The hotel is sited on the 100 acre Crichton estate and the bedroom accomodation is a large modern purpose built extension which seemlessly flows from the old building....the bedrooms were excellent standard with top quality bathroom fittings and a superb shower enclosure.
All staff were very attentive and genuinely interested in looking after their guests.....the surrounding grounds of the hotel and the Crichton estate are very relaxing....yet only only a 5 minute drive into Dumfries. We will definitely stay here again..... my tip when booking is to check online (Booking.com) for special deals at this hotel ...you can sometimes get great rates for a 2 night stay with breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverSurferCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for this review. Your comments are greatly appreciated not just by me, but all of the team who you have given a special mention.
Delighted that you would return and yes, we do have special offers depending on availability which can be booked through most web sites including our own.

See you soon hopefully, Best Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
10.6 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing