We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from 2 night break to Dumfries. Hotel positioned in lovely well kept grounds. Bedrooms are a good size with a massive bed and spotlessly clean. The en-suite only had a shower, no bath. This didn't bother us but some people may prefer a bath.
The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious, something on the menu for all tastes. The service was very quick and efficient and there was plenty of choice at breakfast too.
If in the area again I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Brilliant review covering all aspects of your stay Thank you for taking the time to post. Appreciated by all the team. Look forward to a return visit. Kind Regards ,Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dumfries
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were travelling home by car / ferry to Northern Ireland after visiting family in South of England. Booked this hotel for one night but when we found how good it was we stayed for a second night. Very impressed with the Aston Hotel ...we had room service meal first night and then ate in the brasseire / restaurant on the second.....both meals were very good quality and reasonably priced.....also the breakfasts were excellent.
The hotel is sited on the 100 acre Crichton estate and the bedroom accomodation is a large modern purpose built extension which seemlessly flows from the old building....the bedrooms were excellent standard with top quality bathroom fittings and a superb shower enclosure.
All staff were very attentive and genuinely interested in looking after their guests.....the surrounding grounds of the hotel and the Crichton estate are very relaxing....yet only only a 5 minute drive into Dumfries. We will definitely stay here again..... my tip when booking is to check online (Booking.com) for special deals at this hotel ...you can sometimes get great rates for a 2 night stay with breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverSurferCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for this review. Your comments are greatly appreciated not just by me, but all of the team who you have given a special mention.
Delighted that you would return and yes, we do have special offers depending on availability which can be booked through most web sites including our own.

See you soon hopefully, Best Regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was surprisingly pleased with this hotel, which is located in a pleasant area of Dumfries at The Crichton university campus. Family room was a good size and practical layout, where the additional bed, was a proper bed with mattress (not a dreadful fold away, which child always refuses to sleep in) with a plumped up duvet with pillow. The toilet and shower en suite was excellent and one of the cleanest I have EVER seen. After walking around the centre of Dumfries for over an hour trying to find a restaurant (not pub with food or takeaway), we drove back to the hotel to eat and the food was exceptionally good. In fact, much better than 5* hotels I have stayed in! Definitely order the fresh fish dishes and the shared dessert and cheese platters were delicious, the latter with grapes and pear, relishes and an excellent range of cheeses to suit all tastes. Oh and the obligatory oat cakes - a pile of them. Unfortunately on the second night we were later to dinner and the restaurant was packed, fish dishes not available due to demand and the hospitality staff clearly strained with waiting times upto 30 minutes between ordering and courses. Overall, my review is to advise the hotel to make improvements in several areas, which would not only enhance it's rating and encourage more customers for returning visits. Here are my suggestions: i) put fridges in rooms. Make them 'honesty' fridges, stocked and charged later to credit cards if customer not honest about what they have consumed. Include snacks and bottled waters. ii) have a small leisure room with some machines for working out iii) clear up the halls of spare tables and discourage cleaning staff (who are obviously very effective) from leaving buckets outside toilets when servicing toilets in public areas. iv) use Scottish based products as toiletries in the en suite bathrooms and throughout the hotel v) have a small gift shop area (even at reception) stocking Scottish items for tourists. For example, Scottish toiletries, cuddly sheep or Highland cow for wee kids etc... but not tacky! Include stamps and postcards, advising of posting. You are outside of town, why not build upon this?

Room Tip: Book the rooms including bed & breakfast AND dinner, as Dumfries is desperately deprived of dece...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBBArgyll_Bute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for this feedback on your recent stay, Delighted to read your general comments on the various aspects of the hotel and your experience in our Brasserie. Sorry to learn of your wasted walk around Dumfries and apologise for fresh fish dishes selling out so quickly but this can happen when you are busier than expected.

Have no problem with encouraging more customers for repeat visits and thank you for your suggestions. As a 3 star we have many guests that come and find their experience is over and above their expectations as indeed yours appears to have been. This would be harder to achieve with 4 stars and then there would be the question of the price. Maybe sometime in the future?

Assuring you your comments are appreciated. Kind Regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in park like surrounds. Rooms are spacious, very well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't dine at the hotel but very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The Aston Hotel is a non-smoking hotel which we really appreciated. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phasmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate your feedback about your stay. Hopefully if you were to return you could be persuaded to eat in our Brasserie to experience dishes prepared by our Head Chef Symon McGregor. See you soon hopefully. Best regards, Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a "catch up" review, as I forgot to submit one after my last visit in November 2011. I will be booking this hotel again during the autumn of 2012.

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions (eight at the last count), both on business and pleasure, and I continue to look forward to visiting it.

I first used this hotel just after it opened and was immediately impressed with both the hotel itself and the setting. Rooms are modern, well equipped and airy, with the most comfortable beds I have ever encountered, so much so that I now have the brochure of their supplier (I checked the label on the bed during my most recent visit), and intend to buy my new bed from them.

The staff are amongst the friendliest I have encountered anywhere on my travels, from the manager, who is highly visible, given the location of his office, right through to the less visible staff who clean the rooms.

The reception and bar areas are a little small and can get busy, but the bar is cosy and friendly, and has the feel of “an old country house” about it. The restaurant is on the small side, so booking for an evening meal is perhaps sensible. This can also lead to some minor delays at breakfast, but in reality this is not a place to be in a rush, the setting lends itself to slowing down the pace of life and relaxing.

Overall a fabulous hotel, wonderful setting, excellent rooms, great staff – what more do you really need from a hotel?

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the grounds, and upgrade to the larger rooms if you can, they...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAHNorthEastEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for this brilliant review albeit as you say sometime after your stay. Delighted you will be returning for your ninth visit in the autumn. We have some new faces and some old ones including me! We all look forward to welcoming you to the Aston. Dumfries. In the meanwhile, kind regards Mike Phillips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

we got married at the Crichton Church Dumfries on 16/06/12, this is on the Crichton Estate opposite the Aston hotel.



The majority of our friends, family and guests would be travelling from around the country to be there so we appoached the Aston regarding accomodation for the weekend. This started off as a block booking for the Saturday night but ended up being a large block booking for the Friday and Saturday with a buffet and drinks reception on the Friday along with some poeple staying on the Sunday



Venue: fantastic blend of the old and new. The splendour of the old sandstone house and the modern sleek lines of the hotel extension with the rooms. Modern decor that compliments the old house, very clean, not at all tired or shabby, all rooms in great condition. The rooms were well equipped, spacious, modern,clean, comfortable. most with good views of the estate or surronds. One thing that was also noticable is how quiet and peaceful the rooms and corridors were, even with people coming and going it was always quiet in your room and you hardly heard anyone



food: excellent, good quality, selection and value. the breakfast was plentiful and well presnted be it the buffet when it was busy, or cooked to order when there were less guests,the cold buffet was well stocked



staff: fanatstic, from top to bottom I can't speak highly enough of them, from helping organise a block booking of rooms at a discount rate, to being flexible with this booking increasing it as we needed it, helping arrange a buffet and drinks reception on the Friday night, to the great advice and assistance from Terry regarding what drinks to serve, Crystal's assstance with the arrngements, the always frendly professional aproach of the staff, seving, on the bar or at reception even the night porter went out of his way to be helpful, e.g opening the bar so somene could get a lemonade. And the housekeepers were first class,their scrupulous professional approach meant the hotel was always so clean and tidy, but they were also always friendly and helped out when asked, and the personal touches for our room for the wedding night were lovely



location: stunning grounds, great views, easy to find from the major roads and train station, minutes from the town centre by car or a short pleasant walk, lots of easy parking,



we probably had about 45 rooms for our party over the course of the weekend, and there were no complaints, everyone thought the venue and staff were fanatstic



we would thoroughly recommend theAston Dumfries to you, whatever your reason to visit, even if you can find cheaper it is worth the few extra pounds than maybe another hotel may be charging

Room Tip: ask for a first or second floor room overlooking the grounds
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Jamie & Alison, thank you for this comprehensive review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your special mention of Terry & Crystal who were keen to ensure everything went to plan for your special occasion. Will ensure they are aware of your kind comments. Please come and see again. Every happiness to you both. Best Regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding in the estate & found the rooms to be perfect, bed very soft & comfy, food nice & all the staff were very friendly especially the poor staff that had to put up with us until the wee hours of the morning. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowMoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

For sure we remember you! However pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with good food and friendly staff. Thanks for taking the time to post this review.,much appreciated . Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
659 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: $90 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing