We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, welcoming Dumfries accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Terry and Lynne made our short stay in Dumfries so happy and comfortable. The public areas and the room we stayed in were beautifully decorated and neat and clean. The bed was large and very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Terry was a terrific host and Lynne offered to look after our laundry for a very reasonable price. There was also a large car park which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 339 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We were very well looked after by Terry and Lynne Hawkins who made a real effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay with them.
We had one of their smaller twin ensuite rooms; clean and fresh, with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Im not a person for writing lengthy worded reports. So here goes. Amazing hotel. Very very! Clean. Terry a great host lots of helpfull info. Breakfast has got to be one of the best i have had anywhere. Bikers more than welcome. Thanks again terry. Paul&steph

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luapnotlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and good quality, service was great giving support to help us on our journey north. Wifi good signal which is necessary when travelling. The guesthouse itself had plenty of space so you don't feel intimidated or 'in the way'. Great refreshing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise_Library
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Not only were Terry and Lynn incredibly hospitable, but their knowledge of Dumfries and surrounds greatly assisted me in my family history field research. The hotel is quaint and comfortable and should l find myself in this part of the world again l wouldn't think twice about staying at Huntingdon House again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sockpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My mom and I were travelling around the UK and happened on this charming guest house/hotel. The entire experience was fantastic. A very warm welcome by the owners whose love for their town is unmistakeable. They gave us fantastic recommendations on local restaurants, tourist attractions and even the does and don'ts of the rest of our trip through Scotland. Our luggage was carried up and the room was comfortable, spacious enough and quiet. The place was absolutely spotless. Breakfast was delicious and the check out super easy. I highly recommend staying here. It completely made our trip to Dumfries unforgettable.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel, but they will accommodate as best they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goudwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped off in Dumfries to visit family who live in one of the surrounding villages and couldn't have picked a better hotel, friendly, clean, good facilities and a very tasty breakfast.
Well done to Terry & Lynne, we will happily recommend your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Address: 18 St. Marys Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $109 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing