We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huntingdon House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Glenlossie Guest House(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
$131
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivendell B&B(Dumfries)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpark House(Locharbriggs)
$106
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$108
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamilton House(Dumfries)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
306
31
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
31
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centresmall hotelwell stocked bargreat hostswarm welcomehotel barminute strolldressing gownsfriendly ownersexcellent hotelporridgehome from hometrain stationbusiness tripprevious nightplenty of parkinglittle extras
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 342 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel (really a B & B) as no food was provided in the evening. Very comfortable and quiet room. Plenty of lights and mirrors with an ironing board and iron, tea and coffee and biscuits and sweets, and a hair drier. Big walk in shower and plenty toiletries. This was a superior double room. Completed a breakfast form at night to choose what we wanted and suitable time, so food was freshly cooked. The bar was available till 11pm and Terry, the owner, served us drinks in a comfortable atmosphere. Suggestions were made as to where to eat in the evening and we went to the close by Station Hotel.

Room Tip: Dont know what standard double rooms are like but we had a superior double room which was excellent. Room overloooked the back so we had a very peaceful night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1Normand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

As all have said in the other reviews great place to stay although some of the rooms are a wee bit small, only let down was not being given a key to the front door, Terry said would wait up for us, not really what you expect from a hotel, and like having your Dad wait up for you.

We were a golfing party of 4 and no spring chickens so that seemed rather strange, what would have happened if we had went to a club (highly unlikely as we need our cocoa before bed) and got home after midnight!!

Just made us feel a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012


Great hotel. Stayed for one night just wish it had been longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adejefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was totally amazed at the standard of cleanliness. Superb host . A definite the return trip in future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for just one night on our way up to Edinburgh, taking the scenic route using A and B roads . . . as this is a trip we do often, normally using the M6 and M74, we never see the beautiful scenery in this part of the country.

Huntingdon House is an imposing building at the top of a sloping driveway, it does not have a good outlook thanks to commercial development but it is well located just a few minutes walk from the town centre and very close to the station.

We were warmly greeted by the owner Lynne who showed us to our room (5), which was a reasonable size with a very good sized bathroom - BIG shower! The bed was huge and very comfortable, one slight negative - the pillows were a little limp for my liking but, if you read my other reviews, you'll see this is something I always moan about so may be it's just me! We slept well, the hotel was quiet - no banging doors or corridor parties here! The whole hotel was absolutely spotless.

We were advised by Lynne to walk into town for dinner, which we did, but it was a little late and by the time we found somewhere we liked the kitchen had just closed . . at 9pm! We eventually found an Indian restaurant which was fine (I have reviewed this separately). A Thursday evening in Dumfries isn't a 'not to be missed' experience - dare I say desert?!

When we returned to the hotel Terry, the other half of the owner partnership, was in the bar doing what a good host does. We passed a very pleasant half an hour or so having a drink with Terry and another guest, who also knew the area well. We were given lots of helpful advice on what to see in the area and also the best route to use to continue our overland trek to Edinburgh.

In the morning the breakfast was excellent and well presented. You choose your breakfast items from a list, and the time you want it serving, the night before which ensures it is freshly cooked.

We left having thoroughly enjoyed our stay and following another chat with Lynne who was preparing to paint fences!! A hotelier's work is never done they say . . . !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews