We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We travelled from Motherwell for an overnight. We had read previous reviews and were looking forward to our stay. We were not disappointed. The reviews tell it all. Great personal service. Terry booked us in and showed us to our room. Great touch. We loved our room. (room 5) the Wi-Fi was very easy to use. The personal touches in the room are great. The bed was enormous, to the fact that I couldn't reach the hubby to heat my cold feet. Lynne was very helpful with reccomending a nice restaurant. We loved it. The local map was very helpful. Ordering breakfast the night before was a great idea. Breakfast was fantastic. Loved the porridge. We will definitely stay here again. It is lovely and has high level of cleanliness. Parking is great. We would highly reccomend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faigy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 339 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stopped at Huntingdon House Hotel for a couple of nights this week. The hotel is quite central for town and the station.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, and Lynn and Terry were very friendly and helpful, and even drove me into town to meet friends for a meal. The room was very comfortable, with lots of extra nice touches in both the bedroom and bathroom.
Breakfast was also excellent with a good choice.
This hotel deserves the accolades it receives.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipsypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Well this is my third trip to Dumfries. This time for a short trip to Scotland with my wife. Terry & Lyn, remembered me from a couple of years ago, and we received the same warm welcome.
As before, the house is spotless throughout. Terry and Lyn still go that EXTRA bit to make your stay one to remember. Nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are spacious, lovely decor, and in keeping with tone of the house. The en-suites are spotless, clean towels every day, everything works TV WiFI etc.
The downstairs bar is cosy, and Terry always has time for a chat. You won’t find a speck of dust anywhere, even the glass light fittings get attention! !!
Breakfast is superb, well presented and served on hot plates!! (I am fussy about that sorry) !!
Ample free onsite parking, and many good eating places all within 10 - 15 mins walk.
The Cavern Arms needs a visit !!!!!

Alan O (Seaford East Sussex)

Room Tip: The Best Guest House I have stayed in Room 5 is huge !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seadowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from a long weekend in Dunfries to attend the Scottish Soul Weekender. Booked the Huntington via the web site and was not disappointed. We received a wonderful warm welcome from Terry and was then taken to our room. The attention to detail was first class with extra toiletries in the on suit, hot, hot water and a good stocked tea tray. The bed was comfortable with spare pillows and throw in the wardrobe. Breakfast was first class, cooked to order and delicious. Terry was front of house and an attentive host. He is obviously pasionate about Dunfries and full of information about dining out and places of interest to visit.
Thank you Terry and Lynne for a suburb stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KetteringSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our satnav gave up before we got to Dumfries and I didn't have a location map for the hotel. No problem to Terry - he gave us directions on the phone and when I still didn't find it, jumped into his car and came to find us! Much appreciated Terry! This was the first experience of Scottish hospitality (despite Terry's English roots) for my friend on his first trip to the UK. He was much impressed. We had lovely large rooms, comfy beds and lovely clean bathrooms. The bar on the ground floor was also large and welcoming. Breakfast was served according to a pre-booked list and though I missed my black pudding, it was beautifully prepared.
All in all, a lovely stay. Oh, and it's within walking distance to the fantastic Auld Alliance restaurant in Marchills

Room Tip: They are all quiet I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

A friend and I were on motorbike tour of Scotland in and we purely booked our first night here based on trip advisor review. It couldn't have been a better choice staying at the Huntingdon!!

From the moment we arrived (slightly soaked from a good Scottish down pour) Terry and Lynn made us feel like we were being welcomed home not staying in a hotel. They are such an attentive couple and went well beyond what we would expect from "staying a night". From a biking point of view the bikes are locked away safely although the area seems like that wouldn't be an issue at all.

The rooms were very well laid out with everything you would need and more. If there was anything we would have required I'm sure we could have asked!!

The beds were extremely comfortable and all toiletries were made available. The breakfasts were brilliant even making something that we had "mentioned" the previous night but had not requested specifically. It was this kind of attention to detail that made this for us one of the most enjoyable stays we've had from a hospitality point of view ever.

Terry was extremely helpful giving local knowledge and recommendations to us for the onward portion of our trip. We enjoyed quite a few beers and whiskies in his very well stocked bar!

Location of the Huntingdon meant only 8 minute stroll into the actual town centre. Again we were recommended some restaurants and bars to frequent!

We hadn't firmed up a plan for our next steps of the trip so we decided on the return leg as there was availability and had enjoyed so much, to stay another night!!

Value for money for this stay was excellent. Make sure you really consider the Huntingdon when needing a hotel in Dumfries or nearby area.

We really can't thank Terry and Lynn enough for helping our trip be even more memorable.

Si & Rich

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our second visit to Huntingdon House Hotel and I have to say it was everything we remembered. The owners Terry & Lynn make you feel so welcome and are very attentive to your needs. The Hotel is very comfortable and the personal touches in the rooms make it a pleasure to stay there. We will certainly be back again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scotlandwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Hamilton House
Hamilton House
#6 of 52 in Dumfries
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Address: 18 St. Marys Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $112 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing