We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, lovely area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value, lovely area”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Usual quality from Premier Inn. Ask for a room at the back to avoid noise from the car park. Table Table that is attached is good for a meal at night although service can be slow. Dont bother with breakfast there is a Tesco very close by which does a good one for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    219
    88
    17
    17
See reviews for
226
239
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I am usually a big fan of Premier Inns and they are pretty reliable on the whole. This one had a slightly more dated feel than many of them. Couldn't fault the size of room, cleanliness or the bed itself, which is always one of the big pluses of staying at Premier Inn. The shower was rather weak and annoyingly kept getting gradually hotter. It was just about acceptable to get the job done though. We had a problem with the TV not showing any picture and the lady on reception was very helpful in sorting it out. Our room was nice and cool on the north facing side of the building although our children stayed in a hot and stuffy room on the other side which had no air-con or fan provided. This all added to the feel that this Premier Inn could do with a bit of TLC, or preferably refurbishment.

The evening meal was a bit of a disaster in as much as I was given a well done steak when I had asked for medium rare and this had to be re-done. My meal was refunded without me having to ask for which the restaurant deserves credit. Service was slow and there didn't seem to be a lot of care in some of the meals - e.g. mushroom starter was literally mushrooms and a dip - no garnish. The calamari starter didn't have so much as a lemon wedge. Small touches but ones which would have improved the experience. One final gripe - absolutely no bottled or draught real ales whatsoever which I found unbelievable, the only time I can ever remember being in a Premier Inn restaurant which didn't offer any (and unlike all the others we stayed in that week).

Finally, to the lady that felt compelled to buy her 14 year old son a meal deal - he would eat breakfast for free anyway and there is nothing to prevent him just ordering normally off the menu regardless of his parents eating on meal deals. £22.99 is one hell of a price for a 3 course meal in a TableTable (and presumably no free alcoholic drink!!)

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning so if you want a cooler room, ask for the north facing side of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain_Dalgleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed one night at the Premier Inn Dumfries, myself , husband and 14 year old son. The room was spacious and we were pleased that my son had a proper bed, not a bed settee or put up bed.
We paid for the meal deal, which included breakfast and evening meal, I booked this on the website. The only problem was booking a meal for my son. It was clear that breakfast was free for under 16s but not what he was supposed to eat at the evening meal. I had to book a full adult meal deal for him when we got to the hotel, which meant we didn't get the free breakfast. However, the food was good (especially the breakfast) and well worth the money we paid.
I will happily stay at a Premier Inn again. When you compare them to other "budget" chains I think they are head and shoulders above the rest.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RSJ40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on previous occasions. Reception always friendly and rooms clean and quiet. The Table Table restaurant seemed to be understaffed on this visit. Service at both dinner and breakfast very slow. Cancelled sweet order after half hour wait. Poor self serve selection at breakfast due mainly to inadequate replenishment. No muffins although menu always boasts about them. Fruit ran out completely an hour before end of breakfast session. Definitely did not get value for money this time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejay1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We make several trips from Cairnryan to the midlands every year and have always wondered what this Premier Inn is like. On this occasion we got the late ferry and arrived at about 11:00 pm but got the usual friendly welcome.

Not much more you can say typical Premier Inn; clean, tidy, friendly staff and good nights sleep to set us up for onward travel.

Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checkribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great stop off on the way home from the Scottish Isles. Usual Premier Inn room, good, clean, tidy, everything you would expect. Restaurant next door was a Table Top with the usual good range of food, served in a clean, tidy restaurant. In fact it was a typical Premier Inn experience once in side the room you could be anywhere in the UK but in saying that you can always be assured of a good clean, comfy bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol120662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This Premier Inn is absolutely lovely and the staff are very helpful and friendly.Would highly recommend anyone visiting the Dumfries area to stay here. And a short and cheap trip from the rail station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,033 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Address: Annan Road | Collin, Dumfries DG1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Family Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near this market town on the River Nith - once home to poet Robert Burns, Scotland's favourite son ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Dumfries
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing