We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Weekend in Dumfries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is pleasantly situated on the outskirts of the town with adequate parking. The staff are very helpful and professional and take a personal interest in each guest. The food is excellent and value for money. This was a bank hoiday weekend with a full house but the staff worked hard to that everyone was carfed for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 734 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very friendly greeting and pleasant staff at the inn. as usual the rooms were spotless and comfortable. Evening meal could have been better at the adjoining restaurant, with the lasagne being somewhat luke warm and lacking taste , somewhat bland. when commenting on the fact there was a lack of concern an the chef seemed to spend most of his time behind the bar chatting to his mates.

Room Tip: All are good and there is little noise from traffic
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I arrived late in the evenings at this hotel having had a car breakdown earlier in the day and been "road rescued" so I arrived very tired, hungry and fed up at this hotel.
The receptionist was fantastic , very friendly, efficient and prompt with the basic instructions and directions etc.
The rooms was warm and comfortable, spotlessly clean and spacious.
I had a meal in the adjoining restaurant which was OK (but it was 15 minutes before it shut) - a microwave meal I'd guess but the breakfast int he same location next morning was exceptional in quality. Complete contrast.
I had a great nights sleep and was ready for the onward journey.

Thank you to the duty staff ... They were great and helped recover an otherwise fractious journey.
Would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lovely clean and well maintained hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. In a great location, very close to main roads and town. Did not have food this time but have eaten at adjacent restaurant previously and had a lovely meal.



  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TegzShadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very friendly staff, on all shifts. Rooms adequate, although this isn't a revamped Premier Inn, so a little dated now.

Alarming picture of Lenny Henry on the stand-up card next to my bed, which I hadn't noticed until I woke up the next morning and gazed longingly into his eyes, before coming to my senses and going for a cold shower.....

Cleaner would not accept that I didn't want my room cleaning due to being on a conference call and only staying 2 nights anyway. Her grasp of English wasn't great, but then again no worse than the locals (joke)

About £3 for a taxi into town to sample the nightlife. You might want to save yourself that £3 though, unless you read one of my other reviews. In that case, book a taxi now!

No complaints here, must also mention tons of parking spaces, even when the Vectra and BMW drivers need two spaces all to themselves.

Got given a parking disc, and mini town guide on arrival. shortbread biscuits n the room were nice, and munched while I was unpacking.

Room Tip: Nothing relevant to add
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Most people now know what to expect from a budget hotel, simple clean rooms, well heated, decent bathroom facilities and usually some kind of on-site restaurant/ bar, normally next door if not attached to the hotel.
This hotel does all of that, what makes it a memorable experience is the standard of service from the staff and in this case, I have to say the experience was great. From the receptionist to the breakfast staff I couldn't fault it. I didn't stay for dinner so I can't comment on it.
Situated just off the roundabout at the eastern side of the ring road around Dumfries is it dead handy to get to as well.
I give the premier inn Dumfries a big thumbs up.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can, the price rises for late bookings
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davymac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Staff in the actual hotel were lovely. Rooms clean and spacious as we have come to expect from Premier inn. We had a dinner reservation for 12 people on the night of our stay; the food we were served was the worst I have had in a long time. Eventually restaurant manager reduced the bill, but it worries me what else is going on in that kitchen if the Chef/restaurant Manager will allow food to be sent from the kitchen that is burnt, cold and overlooked. Clearly they have very low standards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel

Address: Annan Road | Collin, Dumfries DG1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: $63 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near this market town on the River Nith - once home to poet Robert Burns, Scotland's favourite son ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Dumfries
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing