We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

stayed here overnight, bedrooms spacious, quality bathroom, quality furniture, would recommend the food

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackpool065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    218
    88
    17
    17
See reviews for
226
237
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for a night on the way back to England, what a lovely clean place, helpful staff and all was without complaint.

Room Tip: We had a room in the 20's, I would say that if you wanted complete quiet, then select a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbigroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed with our 5 year old grand daughter on the 21st March, staff very pleasant, there was a small bed put in the room for my grand daughter which I ended up sleeping in (she wanted to sleep with granny) and to be honest the small bed was better than a lot of beds I have had in other hotels. Room spotless. We spent the evening at Comlongon Castle celebrating my sons wedding but we did breakfast at the Table Table adjoining which was very good value, the bacon was as good as I have ever had, the rest fine but not worth a special mention. We booked in advance on a special deal at a very good price and would certainly recommend the hotel as an interim stop on a trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I was new to the Premier Inn experience and was pleasantly surpirsed, it was very clean and functional,although busy it was fairly quiet at night ensuring we slept well . We used this to do a a few days out and i was happy to come back here each night. Staff were helpful and polite. The foot at the adjoining Table Table was ok although i was surpised they ran out of a few things..condiment wise. Al in all i'd happily go back.

Room Tip: try for a room at the back as it looks over open land rather than the car park at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flemingcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I only stay in the Premier Inn occasionally when visiting family in Dumfries but the place is clean and well ordganised with nice reception staff - as you would expect from a Premier Inn, comfortable, clean and basic rooms. Having elderly parents in a wheelchair limits choices for eating and we have been on a few occassions to the Table Table restaurant next door and each time it is verging on ridiculously bad service.

Food is as you would expect from a Table Table - nothing great but the management in this place need way more training on customer service and basic hospitality. Every time we come they suggest we sit by the bar as parents in wheelchairs and it is close to the diabled toilet only then to be ignored and not served - when we go to the bar - they say "it is not table service there - you must order at the bar" - it is always empty and they still will not provide any table service and they can clearly see us and they stand around chatting at the bar including the managers that totally ignore anyone who walks in.

When we order as the bar - they ask for full payment, we advise we will want desserts, more drinks etc and then they want a credit card ! We are in full view of them at all times ! After a huge wait, the food arrives cold - we look around, no-one to be found, no-one comes to the table at all and we end up eating some of the food. They come to clear the plates eventually and the starter plates and empty drinks are all still sitting about - no-one clears them, just leaves them and no one asks how the food was when we paid either ! Tables littered with plates and glasses and we go to pay leaving the mess of a table behind - the place is almost empty !

Shocking lack of training and the management clearly could not care less. I wish there was somewhere else that I could go when visiting as it is accessible and easy to take wheelchair bound elderly parents there but it is one place where the management need a huge wakeup call - to train their staff and lead by example not hang around chatting and ignoring customers and offer some basic hospitality to the people that come through the door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottishName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests enjoy a relaxing stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
386 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just like most Premier Inns perfectly ok , but slight gripe here was TV which was ancient old box which could only get BBC1 and BBC2 , the hotel is a couple of miles out of town so taxi needed if you wish to venture into Dunfries for a night out . Staff very friendly and welcoming . Food ok next door in Solway Gate

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Needed to get stopped for the night as the weather had made a mess of the schedule
Stopped in here
nice staff ,clean room, fairly priced food& drink
Would use again with no hesitation

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatmanbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,027 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Address: Annan Road | Collin, Dumfries DG1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Family Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near this market town on the River Nith - once home to poet Robert Burns, Scotland's favourite son ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Dumfries
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing