We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friendly Owners - Recommended”
Review of Glencairn Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glencairn Villa
Ranked #31 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Friendly Owners - Recommended”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Shirley made me feel very welcome during my stay and could not have been more helpful. En-suite room was excellent size, bathroom was lovely. Ideal location for town centre, hospital and Uni. Excellent parking facilities. Would definitely stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kookie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
6
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed one night at Glencarin Villa and over all found it a very nice stay. The room was big enough for two, clean and cosy. There is limited space to park outside the B&B but we were lucky in that we got parked up for the night. It is in a good location close to town and in walking distance of everything. Shirley was very welcoming and cooks a good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgregthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

good location in the centre of Dumfries, but that's it, the décor hasn't changed since the 1970's I had a single room and shared bathroom and I wouldn't have booked if I had known this. but to be fair it was only £25 a night, so you get what you pay for I suppose

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at Glencairn Villa for a whole week during May 2012 and was made very welcome by Shirley and Lawrence. I arrived by train so there were no parking problems, and Glencairn is a very short distance from the railway station. The breakfasts were great and I appreciated being given a choice. My room was comfortable and I enjoyed waking up each morning to bird song. Yes, the bathroom was shared but I think by just one other room, and there was never a queue, and it was close to my room. The rate was very reasonable and if I am ever in Dumfries again I would be very happy to stay at Glencairn again. A short walk to the town centre and just around the corner from an excellent public library which provides internet access.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

landed in Edinburgh and had issues with our rental. finally got out of airport and slow traffic to dumfries. was late and raining by the time we arrived and we drove around almost an hour trying to find this place. Everywhere we stopped, everyone knew where this street was, but took us a long time to find it. finally found it and turns out one roundabout messed us up. Wonderful hosts and cool house. Bed was ok but pillows were no good. close proximity to a lot of good things in Dumfries and surrounding areas as well. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good value, very comfortable, quiet area, good food, no problems at all. A nice feature of Dumfries are the beautiful old buildings in red sandstone. Good entertainment in the Hole In The Wall pub in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahammk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I spent two very pleasant nights at this B&B in a room with en-suite bathroom and toilet. The villa is a short walk from the station and from the centre of the town and river. The owner ,Lawrence, made me most welcome, obligingly advised me regarding recommended places to eat and also booked a taxi for me. Facilities were very comfortable, the room clean, decent television, good coffee and tea making facilties and the breakfast to be recommended. Having stayed in numerous places around the world I would have no hesitation at all in recommending the Glencairn Villa B&B as a very good homely place to stay when visiting Dumfires and Galloway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lochenlee Guest House
Lochenlee Guest House
#25 of 48 in Dumfries
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#19 of 48 in Dumfries
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burnett House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Torbay Lodge Guest House
Torbay Lodge Guest House
#11 of 48 in Dumfries
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morton Villa B&B
Morton Villa B&B
#16 of 48 in Dumfries
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Villa

Property: Glencairn Villa
Address: 45 Rae Street, Dumfries DG1 1JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Dumfries Town Centre - Glencairn Villa Our B&B is situated in an ideal town centre location with easy access to Dumfries museums, theatres, art galleries, shops, meals and more. Quiet Dumfries Town Centre Location Free Private Parking Places To Eat & Drink - 2 mins away! Free WIFI We Only Use Local Free Range Eggs We Only Use Local Butchers Vegetarian Options Available All Bed Linen Professionally Cleaned All Major Credit/ Debit Cards Accepted Glencairn Villa offers comfortable Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Dumfries with full central heating and a friendly atmosphere. We are just four minutes from Dumfries Train Station and less than five minutes walk from DG1 Leisure Centre and the high street. All of our double, twin and family rooms are en-suite Dining room and bedrooms with tea/coffee making facilities and freeview colour TV's We are an ideal base for family history researchers , walkers ,on & off road cyclists, golfers and fishermen wishing to experience the area. For an evening meal we can recommend several pubs, hotels and restaurants all within walking distance. Dumfries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Glencairn Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencairn Villa Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing