We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, clean and friendly, but.......”

Caerlaverock Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Dumfries
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, clean and friendly, but.......”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stumbled upon this riverside café which has fantastic views of the Nith Estuary and mountains beyond. Staff are friendly and the café food is clean and well presented. Avoid the so-called crab baguette unless you want processed fish posing as crab in your baguette, which I believe is against the Trade Descriptions Act. I brought this to the manager's attention, but she was totally dismissive. Pity, because it's a nice place otherwise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mabok O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff bent over backwards to take care of our every need. Food was excellent, and they had a wide variety to choose from. You can eat in the shop out on the picnic tables or out on the beautiful lawn. Price was fair

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hammerholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A great place for a light lunch, snack or just a tea, coffee or cold drink. I had some lovely soup and my husband a toastie. Reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Modern cafe”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A new building and an apparently new (or fairly new) business, this is most definitely a cafe with a village grocery shop, not a restaurant. That said, the food, though typical cafe fair, was excellently prepared and very tasty, the choice of teas was great, the views spectacular and the service friendly. A big thumbs up for their accessibility, with a very nifty wheelchair platform lift to take chair users up the 5 or so steps to get in. And another thumbs up for very thoughtful toilet facilities.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 27Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Out of way tearoom”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband a friend and I went walking from Dumfries to Glencaple on arriving at 2.30pm we were too late for lunch at the Hotel. We sat outside had a glass of wine and wandered across the road to the tearoom. What a lovely place with beautiful views over the river. We had a lovely lunch very reasonable prices, well presented by lovely friendly staff. This is certainly worth a visit seems very popular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scamp116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caerlaverock Tea Room also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Caerlaverock Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing