We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Home Cooking”

Loch Arthur Creamery and Cafe
Ranked #8 of 133 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Excellent Home Cooking”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The lunch I enjoyed here was truly top notch home cooking. The quality and provenance of the ingredients is something that should not be overlooked. I enjoyed a delicious soup which incorporated some of their own cheese. To follow I had a spinach and ricotta tart which was delightful and perfectly seasoned and accompanied by a couple of well made salads. For pudding I tried two of cakes which I believe are made by locals (they had different individual's names attributed to them) and these were lovely too. The service was efficient and friendly. Superb value for money and a really lovely product; good home cooking with high quality ingredients without any pretensions in a picturesque setting. I really couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Treats”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a great little gem of a place. We popped in to have a nose around and bought some ice creams (Galloway I think). They make their own cheese and I believe there is a bakers near by too. Lovely town to pass through and stop off for a break!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This place has something really special to offer - it's a little way out of Dumfries but worth the drive if you have the time. Opened less than a year ago, so will surely get more good reviews in the future. Really beautiful location, lovely airy cafe with lots of windows looking onto surrounding farmland. Delicious food selection - much of it organic and cheeses and meats are off the Loch Arthur Farm. Had a really lovely lunch with our friends who live nearby, and then bought a load of yummy goods from the farm/organic shop. Very reasonably priced too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pesti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“loch arthur”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a lovely place . The location is very peaceful yet easily accessible. There is alovely shop selling local products and some made by people at loch arthur . They are famous for their cheese. The staff are really nice and the inside of the restaurant is great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brianandeleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our first visit to the shop in its new location; now in a large wooden building with a shop selling organic fruit and veg, local produce, wholefoods and fairtrade gifts.

There is also a super cafe within the building. It has a lovely, bright seating area with wooden beams overhead, a wood burning stove and wooden furniture. The staff are pleasant and friendly and the menu has an interesting mixture of choices. As well as the usual sandwiches, soups, cakes and scones, there are daily specials and light meals.

My husband ate a vegetable quiche with potato salad and side salad. I had a dips platter (shown in one of my photos) with hummus, tzatziki, tomato & garlic dip, served with vegetable sticks, corn chips and olives. We each had a large cappuccino. The bill came to under £17.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Arthur Creamery and Cafe also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Loch Arthur Creamery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing