We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
Ranked #4 of 133 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went here for a spur of the moment lunch on Easter Monday,and was very pleasantly surprised.This restaurant has it all...beautiful decor,excellent food and lovely welcoming staff.I would highly recommend the place whatever the occasion and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    149
    41
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had in Dumfries”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The food, presentation and service were all first class. I've not had a better meal anywhere in Dumfries. The restaurant was very busy but with a happy buzz and the staff seemed genuinely happy to serve. Well done and keep it up . You deserve all the plaudits

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADoonhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and surroundings”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Interesting glass works on the walls, and pleasing pictures - certainly not designed by a minimalist. Service attentive on arrival, delivering meal, taking dessert order, but not always listening: on three occasions we were asked if everything was OK and did we need more drinks (Taking the dessert order, delivering the dessert and whilst the dessert was being eaten). On each occasion we said we would like tea after the dessert and that we had already ordered this. Surprising, then that we had to repeat this as dishes were cleared. When it came there was enough in the pot for one cup each, no hot water. Decided not to risk asking again. The Pizza Napoletana I had was tasty but doughy - I prefer a crispy base, but that's personal taste. My co-diner had Calzone and enjoyed it. Sticky toffee pudding was good. Two soft drinks (both driving) added to the bill, for a reasonable total of £40.
Would I go back - probably at sometime, some rather wonderful looking seafood pasta on the menu to try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank half-full55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Italian Delight”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Discovered this restaurant on a trip to Dumfries in Nov 2012 and knew we wanted to go back so we made a point of booking a table before we left for our trip this time and were not disappointed. Food is very good, plenty of choice, well cooked and well presented. I think it is reasonably priced for the standard of food, a 3 course meal for two with a couple of drinks each was around £70. Pasta is one of my favourite foods and it was excellent. My partner is a steak and chips man but I persuaded him to try the chicken and he was pleasantly surprised, although I don't think I've quite converted him yet! Desserts are beautifully presented and as I have a sweet tooth I am spoilt for choice, had the fresh fruit pavlova,which was very tasty. Will certainly be back on our next fishing trip to dumfries. Almost forgot, the added bonus of Il Divo playing in the background made it even better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank incompleteangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just home from anther lovely meal at this restaurant. Service & food excellent. Very busy but staff coped well. Only one comment... The main course plates should have been warmer which would have kept the food warmer for longer. Otherwise a lovely evening. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shonahowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing