We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #14 of 134 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first visit to this restaurant,although my wife had been before,and I was not disappointed. The restaurant is very tastefully set out and intimate,waiters were attentive but not overly so,menu is quite extensive,wine a bit pricy but no worse than many other places. Overall we had a lovely meal,presented very well,but I have to say that I do enjoy a good cup of Espresso at the end of my meal - and I was REALLY disappointed with the one I received. I am sorry to say it was one of the worst I have ever Had. I did explain to the waiter that I wished this to be passed on to the staff. Apart from this I would certainly return and would recommend it to friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysherry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    36
    20
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

First visit to this small restaurant, but doubt if we'll hurray back. Food was average, and vegetables which appeared to be roasted were almost unrecognisable, and roast potatoes very ordinary. Floor was covered in crumbs underneath our table, either from previous customers, or most probably the previous day!, as our meal was early and the place was quiet. Also, due to the warm weather, there were a lot of flies in the room due to the front door being wedged open. They need to invest in some sort of fly screen, as no one wants flies buzzing round when you are eating. Certainly not the best restaurant in Dumfries by a long way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelope385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently the best restaurant in Dumfries”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've been here on a number of occasions, in small and large groups and as a couple and i always come away feeling like i've got total value for money - really high quality food in pleasant surroundings with attentive service. La Dolce Vita always delivers. i've reviewed it before but so often people dont re-review places.

i've sampled a lot of the dishes and would happily recomend it to meat eaters, vegetarians and especially seafood fans... so pretty much all bases covered...

All the staff are pleasant, knowledgable and unobtrusive, you can't ask for any more!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glasg0wDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“second visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

this is my second time at la dolce vita and i was not disapointed. I had a lamb dish and it was cooked to perfection and so tender, so well done Laura who is the chef and the owner. She should be very proud of her staff as they look after you so well. This has got to be the best italian restaurant in Dumfries and Galloway. P.S. try the gamborini for a starter it is to die for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have been to this restaurant several times recently and it is always a first class experience from start to finish. Nice surroundings, excellent food & service, what more can you ask for!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing