We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting & Spacious Rooms”
Review of Wallamhill House

Wallamhill House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wallamhill House
Ranked #30 of 49 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting & Spacious Rooms”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A rural setting of natural and artful beauty. The front garden that slopes down to the road is beautiful with flowers that can be enjoyed from the room at the front of the house (where two of us stayed for two nights). Although it is rural ("Kirkton"), Wallamhill House is within a few minutes of Dumfries. Solar panels announce an energy conscious habitation. We saw little of Margaret (who works in Dumfries), but Gorden was a perfect host, who even read out a Scots poem written about him and his siblings by their father. The dining room, like the rest of the house, is spacious and inviting, as is the food well prepared and served by Gordon. We occupied two rooms and found both to be attractive, roomy, and quite comfortable. A nice touch is the toy rabbit on each bed--to be understood when one discovers there are many rabbits on the adjoining Wallamhill (usually occupied as well by Holstein cows). A great setting, great meals, and a great host.

Room Tip: The front rooms, looking out onto the front garden and adjoining Wallamhill, afford superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This B&B has everything you could possibly want to make your stay comfortable and all at a reasonable price: friendly owner, large room, king bed, three pillows each, good sheets, china tea pot and cups, hand lotion, 2 kinds of shampoo, plunger coffee, refrigerator, fresh milk, sherry and short bread, fruit, excellent shower, fast internet, good size TV, desk in room, view of cows and meadow, heated towel rack, etc. It is in the country, but there is a restaurant (Casa Mia) about a 10 minute drive away (a GPS helps).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaWhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Really nice, comfortable, and relaxing. Gordon & Margaret had thought of everything and were particularly good hosts - even showing me their own DVD of the flooding of the River Nith. A glass of sherry in the room in the evening was a particularly nice touch and this is one of the very few places I have ever stayed where there was fresh milk in the room for early morning tea. I shall certainly stay here again if I need a B&B in the area.

GarryDog

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was our last stop after a week touring Scotland. Set in the gentle rolling hills of Dumfrieshire, we were made very welcome by Gordon and Margaret. Our room was huge, with possibly the worlds largest bed to get lost in. Fresh milk in the fridge in the room, and a cafetiere were nice touches. The house was very spacious and comfortable and breakfast in the morning was a real treat, setting us up for the 300 mile drive home! We would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Travelling with a goup of Morgan owners, we were very well looked after at this spacious B&B.
Large, comfortable, ensuite rooms.
Lovely views across the front lawns. Our hosts provided a splendid BBQ for our whole group (half of which was staying at another B&B) for a very reasonable fee, including a drop of the amber spirit late on.
Excellent breakfast to keep one going most of the day.
Pity we only stayed for one night - I plan to be back, with the wife to spend a few days in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham-G4FUJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed here early in April 2010 and agree completely with the other comments posted to date. Wallamhill is in a beautiful location with views across the rolling Dumfries and Galloway Countryside yet is only a few minutes drive from the centre of town (the photo was taken looking south from just in front of the bungalow. We stayed here rather than at another B&B in Dumfries which I have also reviewed, because we were travelling with my in-laws one of whom is registered disabled and we wanted to avoid stairs.

The rooms are very spacious, with en-suite showers, the breakfasts (including haggis, of course) were excellent and the host very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
662 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

What a find! I stayed here quite some time ago now with my parents and I just had to write a review on such a lovely guest house. We have stayed here several times, often for about a week with my grandparents in Easter and we always had a lovely time.

The surrounding scenery is gorgeous and the house gardens are always kept beautifully pristine. The two owners, Mr and Mrs Hood are so friendly and generous and i think Mr Hood cooks an excellent cooked breakfast. The rooms are very big and comfy and drinks and snacks are provided in the room. The hotel is quite close to the town centre and so it is only a short drive away. It is also a perfect place to stay if you are going to be doing lots of walking.

I really enjoyed my holiday in Scotland and it was made better by this lovely guest house. As a result i am hoping to go back shortly as a romantic weekend away with my boyfriend.

  • Liked — The lovely owners, gorgeous house, garden and rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
3.8 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,045 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southpark House
Southpark House
#1 of 2 in Locharbriggs
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
3.1 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
13.3 mi away
The Old Shop
The Old Shop
#16 of 49 in Dumfries
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallamhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallamhill House

Property: Wallamhill House
Address: Kirkton, Dumfries DG1 1SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallamhill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wallamhill House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing