We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

Daksh Indian Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 137 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $42
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our ethos is not only to offer refined and flavoursome Indian cooking with imagination, but to infuse it with organic ingredients where possible. It is a fine dining restaurant, an establishment which offers authentically prepared quality Indian cooking with just a modicum of a twist. We also offer a service which is at once friendly and highly efficient.Our menu showcases the varying cultures, traditions, celebrations and styles of living that give character to Indian cuisine. Our food varies according to its regional location. Flavours and aromas are robust, exciting and truly unique. Fine ingredients, cooking methods and distinct tastes and textures ensure that you experience the true joy of Indian dining.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Authentic, fresh, and worth a visit. Expensive but worth paying abit more for better quality. Not greasy or sauce laden like a lot of less authentic Indian restaurants can be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lam105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuj C, Owner at Daksh Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your time to write review from your busy schedule.

We are very happy to see your appreciation and would like to assure you to keep the freshness and flavours.

Please do try other dishes that will show our chefs skills during your next visit.

Also spread words among your friends and family to try dash indian restaurant.

regards

Anuj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 250 of 370 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Thought we would treat ourselves and go here. What a mistake. They have tried to make the food too posh and have failed miserably

Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuj C, Owner at Daksh Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your visit.

Let us say that this is the food we do is just keeping very simple using fresh ingredients and freshly cooked for each customer individually and served.

We do not use any preservative or any other kind of flavour maker other than spices and herbs to give natural flavours of the food.

Our food is for all who loves freshly cooked home food with natural ingredients.

I wish you come back to us and let the waiter know your flavour and we will do as per your palate.

regards

Anuj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Visited this restaurant after reading very good reviews. Unfortunately, we must have chosen a bad night as the food and service was only average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuj C, Owner at Daksh Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear customer ,

Many thanks for giving us opportunity to serve you our food.

Our food is not special it is just fresh and mixed with pure spices to give flavour.

If there is any special requirement from our customer for the variation in flavours we always take care of that.

Please try again to taste our dishes different from your previous visit to get the variation in our dishes.

Regards

Anuj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A somewhat limited menu offering authentic tastes of Indian food. Don't come here expecting anglicised versions of Indian cuisine because what you get are proper tasting dishes. As a vegetarian this restaurant offers me excellent choices other than run of the mill vegetable versions of what the meat-eaters get. We dine here regularly and appreciate the great service offered.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuj C, Owner at Daksh Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Regular Customer,

It is specially very exciting to vegetarians as I am also a born vegetarian. You are absolutely correct our veg meal is typically home made food by mom with great passion.

let us assure you all our dishes veg and meat are fresh and as good as we eat in our homes. I eat the same food as we do for our customers with no difference only veg.

We keep our food simple fresh and original to give the true flavours of Indian food.

We all truly appreciate your observation for keeping our menu small because it is a great challenge to maintain the freshness of food with large menu.

We all welcome you again and again to enjoy different dishes and please do spread the words to your family and friends to visit Daksh indian restaurant.

regards

Anuj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we forgot to order our youngest child's curry....thank God we spared her the traumatic experience of eating what can only be described as dog turd. I don't say this lightly, but it's likely to be a swift trip to the toilet for all of us!
Utterly appalling, the worst Indian food ever, the chef should be ashamed, and the manager marinated in one of their own sauces!

1  Thank TIrving2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuj C, Owner at Daksh Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Customer,

We are really sorry to hear that your family could not enjoy the meal. But more concerning is if it has done something wrong.

We would like to know little more because staff and other customers have had the same food but we have not got any such feedback. If your 's is specific We would like to discuss and understand where and what has gone wrong.

Please do visit as per your convenient time so that we can improve ourselves with your little efforts.

We look forward to see you soon.

Regards

Anuj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daksh Indian Restaurant also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Daksh Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing