We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fresh food”

Daksh Indian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Daksh Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 133 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our ethos is not only to offer refined and flavoursome Indian cooking with imagination, but to infuse it with organic ingredients where possible. It is a fine dining restaurant, an establishment which offers authentically prepared quality Indian cooking with just a modicum of a twist. We also offer a service which is at once friendly and highly efficient.Our menu showcases the varying cultures, traditions, celebrations and styles of living that give character to Indian cuisine. Our food varies according to its regional location. Flavours and aromas are robust, exciting and truly unique. Fine ingredients, cooking methods and distinct tastes and textures ensure that you experience the true joy of Indian dining.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for my partner and I to go after work at 5.30 pm on a Friday night. We were welcomed and seated at a window seat straight away. Service was excellent. The food was very good and very fresh. The only thing that was not to our taste was the garlic naan. I am not saying there was anything wrong with it just that we prefer them softer with more butter. I will go again. The decor is a bit tired, but it can be dealt with. The food is more important to get right and they have done that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank niki1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    78
    20
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Authentic fantastic cuisine”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went to Daskh for the first time for lunch with a group of colleagues . The food was outstanding and all cooked fresh . There was no additives in the dishes which made a pleasant change from the usual cuisine in our home town . The service was extremely good . As with former reviews I agree with the atmosphere and decor it could do with a face lift .It is no different from madonnas and even going back to the days of Christopher's . However I will certainly return with my husband as the food is worth another visit . Give it a try Doonhamers you will not be disappointed .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 263396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umang M, Manager at Daksh Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Customer,


Many thanks for taking time out from your busy schedule and writing feedback, it is very encouraging for all of us at Daksh that our hard work in giving fresh and flavoursome food is being appreciated by our customers and especially from the customers who knows the town very well and the history of the place where Daksh is today.


We assure you that we will always give fresh food chosen from the best ingredients to our customers. We are very passionate about food and services and we take utmost care to look after our customers.


You are right about the decor of the place and we take this as serious feedback, yes we have done minimal changes in its decor but let me say this you will see slow and steady change in the decor to reflect two things one is feeling of Indian restaurant and other is our passion to provide quality food to our valued customers.


Once again thank you very much for your comments and look forward to welcome you and your family and friends often. Please do recommend us to your family and friends.


Have life full of spices with all colours as natural as RAINBOW!!!


Regards


Umang Mundepi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Found this Indian restaraunt on the internet before arriving inDumfries on holiday and it was highly reccommended.
We were very pleased with the food, service and price. The only thing I was disappointed with was the decor as it did look a little shabby but I really enjoyed the food and didn't look to much at the decor

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucretia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile for your customers”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had read good reviews and wanted a curry after drive up on a Friday evening from Yorkshire so booked table for 9pm. Badly delayed and arrived after 10 - after their publicised closing time... but they stayed open for us. Well worth it! Excellent food and service - we ate alone so hard to score on atmosphere. Thank you for going the extra mile for us

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“walked out”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Phoned in advance to book a table, requesting a high chair. Arrived, were told (not asked) to sit in a corner while they sorted a table- only one other couple were in the whole of the restaurant. Heaters turned on around the restaurant as it was so cold and radiators not working.
Having then told us which table to sit at we waited over 15 mins for the waiter to eventually make an attempt to get a high chair which he then attempted to clean, leaving us sat with our coats on whilst he answered the phone.
Hate to think how long we'd have had to wait if we hadn't phoned in advance or if they had been busy. Didn't wait for the menu's to arrive, and for the 1st time ever we walked out in disgust. Will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umang M, Manager at Daksh Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience, and yes, some delay has taken to attend you upon your arrival because I was serving main course to other customers.

After offering you the table and while I have gone to bring baby chair as you asked in the mean time we received a phone call for the takeaway and while I was taking takeaway order I saw you going out. Before I could ask you anything I ran outside to talk to you I saw you driving away.

We could not contact you because we do not have your details, more than you we felt sorry because we want our customers to enjoy the food at Daksh.

We take this feedback to improve our services and assure you this would not be repeated again.

Look forward to see you again and enjoy our food.

Wish you good luck

Umang-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daksh Indian Restaurant also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Daksh Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing