We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not for beginners”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 7stanes - Mabie

7stanes - Mabie
Ranked #13 of 45 things to do in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mabie Forest, the original mountain biking venue in the south west of Scotland. Mabie lies just a few miles south of Dumfries and caters for beginners right through to the most expert of riders.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not for beginners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

25k red route brilliant scenery knocked so and so off on last day, all 7 Stanes had wonderful trails in very good condition. Visit their site to plan rides. Glentress and Killoughtree easily my favourites

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mabie forrest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fantastic bike riding suit all levels, stayed at great hotel Mabie House biker freindly and special rates for cyclists.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Mabie newbies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just did green route. Fantastic weather provided us with stunning views from viewpoints along the way. Green route ideal for non experienced. Will try blue next time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for a blast around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great trail for those just starting out and those looking to test their skills a bit more. As part of a week long tour of all the Stanes we rode this in the afternoon having been battered by Dalbeattie in the morning...

...so legs were a bit tired, but a MONSTER bargain hot chocolate at The Shed gave us the boost we needed.

The Red Route remains a favourite, and work on the bermed single track has made it even faster - so a huge thankyou to all those who'v put the time into improving the experience.

This is technical enough to challenge, but not in the relentless way Dalbeattie is: you can safe roll most of the features if pumping the front suspension and clearing them at speed isn't for you.

If you don't have your own bike then The Shed will hire you a good spec hard tail at very reasonable prices.

Make sure you pay the car park fee. It's not that there are wardens, it's just that the trails are free and every little bit helps the Forestry Commission.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank duffa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant trail Rubbish cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Visited twice in the last week

The first time we started from the car park, the trail was brilliant as always not to techincal but nice and flowing .

The down side comes from the cafe, the staff in the cafe are not interested in the customers at all, I ordered a burger after waiting 5 minutes for the lady to finish making the salad for another meal instead of taking my order and letting me go back out side with my group, the burger was small and nothing special but averagely priced.

I went back in later to get a drink and I was waiting to be served and two member of staff were more interested in talking about a holiday than serving me so I walked out after waiting about 5 minutes .

The second time I rode from my holiday lodge it was a good ride but it was very wet the. Trail still rides really well

Overall a brilliant trail but a poorly run Cafe

Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7stanes - Mabie also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to 7stanes - Mabie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing