We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day out for all the family”
Review of Mabie Farm Park

Mabie Farm Park
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out for all the family”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent a lovely day here with plenty of fantastic activities for the children. The cafe food was lovely but you can take your own picnic if you prefer.
The older kids particularly enjoyed the hay barn with the swing and it was so great to see them enjoying something that didn't involve technology! The youngest loved the giant pillow and the indoor soft play.

We would definitely visit again when down this way on holiday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lexyh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    72
    17
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wigtownshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Group trip”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Visited Mabie with a group of youngsters and grown ups. It's Nicely laid out, plenty to keep youngsters entertained, some wet weather entertainment, and plenty of animals to feed.
We took a picnic so I can't comment on the humans food (the animals enjoyed theirs, you can buy bags of feed) but there's a sizeable cafe that looks well stocked.
It's definitely aimed at younger family members, I don't think there's much to keep teenagers entertained but under 10's would have a whale of a time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeltieCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“childrens wonderland”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

just been to mabie farm park, just over £20 for the three of us, so cracking value. it is beautifully laid out with loads of activities for the kids. beautiful grass land all around. the tea room was lovely with a play area for toddlers to sit and give their parents a wee break whilst eating, food was lovely with a varied choice, we had a wrap for dad, my son had beans on toast and spaghetti hoops on toast for me, a great wee snack and very reasonable too. we paid a wee bit extra for a couple of things, donkey ride, quad bike and boating but even so, still very good value. the animals are great, they look very healthy and well cared for. the barn with rope swing for nice and padded they also had a barn with 2 big bouncy castles, trampolines, rock climbing wall, little tikes play area and tractors diggers bikes etc, also the go karts outside were great for adults and kids alike. going during the week was great as there were no queues just a nice amount of visitors having a great time. would go back again, a great place for a day out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank grahamsparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a brilliant day out”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

grandson and husband love the quad bikes and karts .hay barn good fun and its great to see the animals having freedom especially when they escape.plenty to do and see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely family day out”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Took my two children and a niece today, and had a wonderful time. Paid using Tesco vouchers and took a picnic, the weather was great, and being a non-holiday weekend, it wasn't too busy. The setting is beautiful, the whole place is very clean and well-kept, from the smell of disinfectant in the loo's to the healthy, well mown grass. The swings, slides, tunnels etc were all much appreciated by all the kids, and were decent quality stuff. Plenty of picnic tables, animals looked happy, healthy and in clean airy enclosures. The go-karts and the straw barn were the two things that my bunch enjoyed the most, I think. So satisfying to watch them spend a couple of hours having so much old-fashioned fun! All that nice stuff out of the way, the things that really stuck in my mind about the place are plentiful free parking, plenty of clean, well -kept space and a generosity towards families that is harder to explain - the bags of animal food were generous and reasonably priced, the lady feeding the lambs made sure every family got a chance to feed a lamb, even the attractions that had an extra charge were reasonable, and if you were on a budget, they weren't in your child's line of vision, tempting them to ask for a go. In fact, the whole experience was one of feeling like it was enough to pay to come in, and nowhere was there any marketing ploys to make me spend more money. A really rare thing today, and I'm sure something which enables many parents to enjoy the day without kids pestering for 'more'. Please don't chance that special thing about Mabie. We'll be back! Thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lancashirelass23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mabie Farm Park also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Mabie Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing