We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, well almost!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PutneyPat
UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect, well almost!”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Situated in a very quiet spot, the lodge is the perfect getaway. It was spotless on arrival and had everything you could possibly need. The only reason for not giving five stars is that on leaving and stripping the beds we found a dog treat/chew in one of the beds. Strange but true! Let's not be unkind - we would stay there again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thank you for your review of Heron lodge....Glad to see you had a great stay and holiday and are pleased to see you will return again sometime.
However, we do realise we do strive to ensure Heron Lodge is presented in good order to our guests...but realise that we cannot be perfect every time...... and on this occasion accept we did miss something ! We do try to remove all items that guests seem to leave behind even when they hide things down the chairs, under the sofa and furniture etc... KR Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev Dr Da...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Warm, clean, comfortable and very well-equipped. Great location for exploring near (e.g. Mabie Forest) and far (Mull of Galloway and Isle of Whithorn). Loved Threave Gardens and Castle (Ospreys) and Red Kites nr. Laurieston. Lovely sea-front paths/walks at Kipford and Rockliffe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generally pleased with everything
Liked least: Lack of hooks in bathroom & bedrooms. A grab-rail in the shower would have been helpful.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thank you so much for your time to review Heron Lodge.....and thank you for sharing your day trips you had whilst there.
I am sure this will be helpful to future guests make their choice to stay @ Heron Lodge and explore the Dumfries and Galloway area as there is so much to see and do for many day trips.
Hope to see you return soon for another stay @ Heron Lodge.

Many thanks

Louise
Heron lodge owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willj69
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is a wonderful place to get away to,ideally situated to all the nearby amenities but far enough away to shut the world out,scenery was lovely woke up to grazing sheep,robins and woodpeckers,would definitely recommend this property and location,high specification,everything you need is provided,will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2015
Heron lodge is indeed set in a lovely location spot, being an ideal bolt hole for peace and serenity from our fast pave lives we often endure....

So glad it ticked the box for you and you enjoyed a lovely relaxing holiday......and welcome you back for a return visit soon.

Thank you for you review of Heron Lodge.....
KR

Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary m
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved Heron Lodge. It was very clean and has everything supplied you need. The view at the back of the lodge was beautiful and the seating area very nice. If we had been a little earlier in the year I'm sure we would have made more use of the decking seating. The lodge is perfect for cycling or walking into Mabie Forest and for Loch Arthur Farm shop and restaurant which is just great. Our grandson (8) loved Mabie Farm Park with its great facilities for children of all ages. He also loved the games available in the lodge and his only problem was that the garden was not large enough for football and there was no swing park for him to play in on-site and maybe meet other children. There are so many things to do and see in the surrounding area we shall have to go back again to see the things we missed.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thank you for your review of Heron Lodge, I am sure it will be especially useful for future families make Heron Lodge number 1 choice for their family holiday.

Heron Lodge is always presented in good order to help guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay, providing all required and more for a self catering holiday.

Many families are always surprised in what is available for their children in the area of Dumfries and Galloway and within a few minutes drive from the lodge.

Heron lodge would like to welcome you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards

Louise
Heron Lodge owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place with excellent views”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very nice cabin well looked after with every thing you need, views from the back garden were excellent

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Thank you for your time to review Heron Lodge. Very pleased you enjoyed the wonderful views from the lodge.

Heron Lodge would like to welcome you back for a return future stay anytime.

KR
Louise
Heron Lodge Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeO1159
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a top class facility, fully equipped with all you might need to enjoy a break in the country. It's well located yet as rural as you could
wish for. Well laid out
and comfortably furnished. It was well above my expectations.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2015
Thank you for your time and review of Heron Lodge . Glad you had a lovely stay and peaceful holiday enjoying the comforts of the lodge and enjoying the lovely rural location and views.
Please feel free to make a return visit sometime soon, Heron lodge welcomes back many repeat guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having breakfast on the balcony
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 26, 2015
Thank you so much for your review of Heron Lodge and glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Heron Lodge is indeed a great base in which to explore the area of Dumfries and Galloway. There is so much to see and do around the surrounding countryside or take the coastal routes to find more great walks and beaches.

I do hope you return to stay again soon @ Heron Lodge.

Louise
Heron Lodge Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing